Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made a few modifications. First I made corn bread with condenced milk using the tradional corn bread recipe on Aunt Jemima'a recpie, I also added a can of cream corn into the mix. After I sauted the onions and celery, I added in almonds and walnuts to give it an extra boost. I also added in about a pinch or two of rubbed sage and half a cup or so of minced garlic. After the corn bread was cooled I cut the bottom off (it was a little burnt) and crumbled it all up. Because of the cream corn in the corn bread, it didn't require as much chicken stock. It is very important to make sure the consistency of the stuffing is the consistency of malt-o-mill. I baked it all on 350 for several hours so that it baked from the inside out. VERY GOOD Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I added the sage in small increments after a few taste tests. I only used about 1 tbsp total. I added two cooked chicken breasts that were finely shredded. I used white cornbread and left the eggs out of the final mixture. Not to re-create the recipe, but I did use this as a go-by since it was my first attempt! Worked very well and the family raved about it for days! Next time I will double or triple the recipe and hope for left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is similar to the one I use. But it's definitely much tastier if you add meat such as turkey or pork sausage seasoned with sage, thyme, and etc. To make the seasoning part a cinch just use Bell Seasoning. This recipe is so delicious, I guarantee you will have them all coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is very similar to what I make every year. I use cornbread with little to no sugar. I also add seasoned bread crumbs I make a few days before. I add seasoned turkey meat or sausage, chopped boiled eggs. I don't measure my seasonings but season liberally. It always is a huge hit at every gathering I have taken it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 3/4 cup chopped celery and 3/4 cup chopped green peppers. I only used 1 tbsp of sage. I believe 2 tbsp would have been too much. I had to add about 12 more ounces of chicken stock to keep it from being too dry. Overall, the original was a good start to make it how you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
WAY too much sage for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I did it last year for Thanksgiving and forgot to rate it then so I'm rating it now. I found it dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
You have to make the cornbread bread using cornmeal and not jiffy mix. it makes a difference. otherwise this stuffing was good and went well with cornish hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My family went ga ga over this dressing! Made exactly as directed and it was delish!! Looking forward to making it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Tried this last year, doubled the recipe there was way to much sage. We couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States