Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my family!!!! I did make some modifications such as adding bacon in while I cooked the celery and onion. and I too used the whole box of jiffy! Will be making this again this year! I forgot to update last year (2011) when I made it for the 1st time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have not made dressing in over 6 years. So I am rusty. This was an ok recipe. My husband liked it. I liked it too, I am just searching for a more familiear childhood taste. The search is on, but thanks for the stater recipe. I plan to try other recipes similar to his at allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was the first time I made dressing and I am so glad to have chosen this recipe. It was great! I did double the recipe, which filled a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! This also freezes nicely, as I made it for just myself I had to test it out. Just a note, the 3c of corn bread is essentially the whole thing. I made the mistake of loosly crumbling the bread and had soup. But mistake was easy to correct, crumbled in the rest of the pan and baked until done. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
In my version I used gluten-free cornbread (I have Celiac Disease) and I added 2.5 cups chicken broth. This is by far the best cornbread stuffing I've tried. It is going to be a new tradition at my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Poveda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
2 tablespoons of sage is way too much for this recipe. I used all of the cooked cornbread, which is more than the required 2 cups, and the sage was totally overpowering. I re-made it and only used 1 teaspoon, and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
You can't call it grandmas if your making cornbread from a box. Get you a med size iron skillet, heat it in the oven with 3 tsp butter on 425. Take 2 cups of cornmeal 2 cups butter milk and about 1/4 cup of flour. Take the skillet out of the oven with melted butter, pour the butter into your cornmeal mixture and stir. Then pour it all back into the skillet and put it in the oven for 25-30 mins at 425. This will make a huge difference in the way it taste. I also use a roll of saltine crackers crushed and boiled eggs oh and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love it. My grnadma had a recipie just like this..the only thing different was she made her ownn cornbread. But since i had no actual recipe i looked and came across this one. Its very easy and completed my holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I used Jiffy and mixed this too much and it got too soggy. My mother always said the stuffing was the toughest, which is why it's the best! I will have to try another recipe next Christmas :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This came out great. I agree with Jeanne. Be careful of the liquid and use plenty Onions and Celery make the dressing. I also added chicken gizzards in mine. I still remember growing up with the heavenly smell of celery and onions sauteing. I knew it was a special day with those smells in my mother and both grandmother's home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States