Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the best recipe ever! It tastes just like my grandmother's and I've been trying to make it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by what's Cooking?
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I left out & added in a few seasonings; it was absolutely delicious the whole family loved it from the elders to the toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Stir during cooking to make it fluffier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used this as a jumping-off point and made a few changes. My grandma used to make a very similar recipe and I've been trying over the last few years to recreate it. I used Aunt Jemima corn meal with the "golden corn bread" recipe on the package. Of the whole pan, I used about 3/4. I boiled 4 chicken thighs, shredded the meat after it had cooled, and added it to the recipe. We've always had chicken in our dressing, but I might try a different meat at a non-holiday gathering. No sage. I'm not experienced with sage and I know my grandma never used it. Maybe it works for someone else, but I just didn't want it. I added a couple slices of bread, crumbled, and more broth. I think my grandmother also uses a can of biscuits but I figured that would just be too much bread for me. I had to up the baking time, it may have been as much as an hour total. Overall, this particular recipe is a solid average before changes are made. Being such a simple recipe, it's easy to experiment and improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Dogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My first dressing from scratch by this recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This tastes just like my mother's dressing (which is the best). First time I made it found sage was too much. I now use 1/2 the sage called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia I.
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I didn't have sage, so I added thyme and garlic salt instead. I prepared JIF corn bread mix with buttermilk (a little more than called for) and added canned corn and sauteed onions, green, yellow & red peppers, chopped up. No celery. Then I followed this recipe. It was delicious - and I usually don't use anything boxed, but the JIF is more like a base for other corn bread recipes anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I did this for Thanksgiving! It taste just like I used to make it....like Big Ma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Used this recipe for a tray that served approx. 50 people for a Christmas Party. Adjusted recipe by adding chicken and turkey sausage added some fennel and red bell peppers, garlic and parsley. It worked very well. It was fast and tasted delicious. Cooking time stayed about the same. I will keep this recipe as a favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Easley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe and I really liked it. Next time I will add a half cup of green bell pepper. I did not add the eggs and and used half the sage. I will refer this recipe to friends ASAP. RE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States