Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is an excellent recipe if you are familiar with southern cornbread but never cooked it and want to try with a basic recipe. If you are new to making it, some things you DEFINITELY need to know: 1)"Dry Corn Bread Mix" is "corn meal mix", not Jiffy or sweet brands. The Aunt Jemima brands are perfect. Sweet dressing doesn't have the traditional southern taste most folks are accustomed to. 2)Sage is delicious but is like any other herb: personal preference rules because it is VERY strong. If you are not used to sage, cut the recipe amount in half and add your sage to the recipe before the eggs, so you can taste as you go along. 3)The more you stir and mix this recipe, the more dense and gummier it gets. If its "wet" before you bake it, the stiffer it will be when it's done. It will sit up like a brick! If you like a lighter, fluffier dressing ("stuffing" like), only add as much liquid as needed to be visibly moist; it should still be chunky when you pour it in the baking dish to get a light consistency. 4)For non-vegetarians, add meat to this dish! Almost any meat will go well: cubed or shredded turkey, ham, chicken, sausage, ground beef, bacon. Try your favorite. 5)BE CAREFUL if you use poultry seasoning, some blends have salt. Reduce the recipe salt if needed. 6) My grandma told me her secret to good dressing is the vegetables, so use plenty celery & onion. Cook them only until tender and the onions are translucent so you don't lose all the crunch. It adds great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I made a few modifications to make it more like my Grandma's recipe - increased celery to 1 cup, added 3/4 cup chopped bell pepper, 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning + large pinch of sage, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and used the entire mix of cornbread instead of 3 cups as it says (Jiffy brand comes in 8 1/2 oz. boxes - use 2 boxes). Wow, what a hit with my crowd! I found it easy to bake it for 30 minutes the night before, refrigerate, let it come to room temperature, then bake it 10-15 minutes before serving is perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1098 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Be sure to use a cornbread mix that doesn't include sugar. In the Oklahoma area, Shawnee Mills mix is sugar-free. Jiffy Cornbread Mix DOES contain sugar. If you can't find a sugar-free mix, buy a bag of cornmeal and follow the instructions to bake your own cornbread from scratch. The dressing won't taste right otherwise. My grandmother used a similar recipe, but added 2 or 3 chopped hard-boiled eggs to the dressing mixture before baking. The amount of sage you need depends on personal taste and how long ago the jar of sage was bought and opened. Add sage by single teaspoons (BEFORE you put in the raw, beaten eggs), stir well, and taste test after each teaspoon. This will ensure you get a perfect pan of dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
829 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was wonderful...but I had to make some changes. The original recipe calls for making ALOT of cornbread and then only asks you to use 3 cups of it, which would have only made 1/2 a pan of dressing anyway. I doubled the amount of cornbread (since there was more than enough there) and doubled everything else too. I also added one can of cream of celery soup. It was YUMMY!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is really similar to the recipe that my grandmother passed down to me. You can also substitute the chicken stock for the pan drippings if you are also cooking a turkey. When prepared with the drippings it is delicious and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Southern Charm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This turned out a lot better than I expected. My Mamaw is the only one in the family who makes dressing, but this year I'm not going to be home for it. I decided to strike out on my own and give it a try. I have a couple of tips to add. I increased the chicken stock by about a 1/4 cup and be sure you use a glass or light colored baking dish. The dark baking pan will dry this out. Also, I broke the rules and used Jiffy (with sugar) for my cornbread. I have to say, I like the added sweetness. It isn't as sweet as most other brands so it still came out pretty good. It's not the same as Mamaw's, but I don't have left overs either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This has been the best version I have found, made it for my office party and they went gaga, the key is to chop onions and celery in proceesor so find that the dressing is smooth. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Don't make the mistake I did, using the same amount of ground sage as this recipes calls for in dried sage. I may try it again, but not soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen P.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! To change it up a little though, I only added 1 beaten egg. And then I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. The soup held the dressing together, made it perfectly moist, and added a really nice flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I love this recipe! I was looking for one that was similar to my mother's. She never had a written recipe, and this was almost identical! It'a simple and easy enough to add extra ingredients for variations. Will definitely make this a Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States