Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe for over 40 years and I'm so glad to see it called DRESSING and not stuffing. I always buy new sage each year because dried varieties can lose their flavor. Be careful how much you put in as it can become stonger with cooking.I put lots of chicken stock so it won't dry out with cooking and always make my cornbread from scratch. I add about 10 cooked bisquits torn into small pieces for better texture. Make it a day ahead and refrigerate so you can just pop it in the oven when the turkey is almost ready. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was very curious about this recipe and amazed when I read it. This recipe has been in the Texas side of my family for over 75 years. Some may think the amount of sage is a little too much but for us the sage makes the difference. The only slight difference was my Grandmother would also add a few crumbled slices of stale white bread. Everything else is identical. This dressing is on my menu every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fergie54

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe is a lot like the one my family uses (my grandmas). Only the chicken stock they're asking for is from the chicken we boil, and shred up to put in the dressing. And we bake our corn bread in a cast iron skillet. Green onion is good in it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Good, but toooo sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious and easy! Does well with modifications, too. This time I added about 3/4 cup of corn and a tablespoon of fresh thyme. It was a hit - even my toddler loved it! Next time I'm thinking about cooking sausage with the onion and celery before adding it to the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Amy, your grandmother most definitely knows how to cook. God bless her. I have tried 5 other cornbread dressing recipes during the past 6 months in hopes of finding "the one". Was disappointed for one reason or another each time - until I tried this one by your dear grandmother. A super hit! As I reluctantly added the entire 2 T. sage, I was afraid it wouldn't be good. Boy was I in for a thrilling surprise! It was superb! So easy and so simple to just follow this excellent recipe as written; however, I did take another reviewer's advice and mix the sage in with warmed chicken stock. And, as per Jessica's 2007 review, I did stir the stuffing 3 times in the oven (once every ten minutes) and oh my, the texture was just perfect and heavenly. I used my own homemade cornbread recipe as we don't have Jiffy easily available here. Thank you so much for posting this, Amy. Now I can finally relax at Christmas and Thanksgiving and not stress about "what if the dressing isn't any good". Salt, pepper and sage. Those are the only seasonings necessary. Can't rave about this enough. THANK YOU and God bless your dear grandmother ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I was looking to recreate my grandmother's classic cornbread dressing- this was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It's simple and Taste Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was very easy and really good. I had to double it and everything was still wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Tasted like Granny Jones'! I did add 3 slices cubed, dried white bread slices and 2 additional eggs. I used several green onions in place of regular onion. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States