Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome dressing....delicious with simplicity. I'm used of doing a dressing adding seafood and meat; but sometimes you just want something different. I fixed it for Christmas 2010 with ham and smothered green beans and my family and I loved it. I fix it sometimes when it's not a holiday.I sometimes cook this dish and add real lump crab meat, and chicken meat. For chicken, I would boil chicken thighs with seasoning and break up;and add in dressing mixture.Then bake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have only made dressing one other time in my life and didn't even know where that recipe was. I found this one and liked the reviews. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A confession: I am 54 years old, Southern, and had never made cornbread dressing before. LOL! I followed this recipe just as directed and it was perfect. Even better the second day as the flavors 'melded' together. It's the classic corn bread dressing I grew up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Made this for Christmas Eve- exactly following the directions. Not one of the 10 of us liked it. I will use a regular stuffing recipe next time. I am surprised it is rated so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Thanks to the reviewer who said to add cream of chicken soup to the dressing! I tried it once and it was good but my husband (trying to help) added way too much cornmeal! I tried it again with the alterations suggested (less broth and a can of cream of chicken soup) it was perfect! My dressing is now better than my grandmother's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The cornbread was DELICIOUS, after making few modifications, however. The amount of crumbled cornbread given in the directions is about half of what is prepared. Not using the full amount results in soupy dressing prior to baking when all of the ingredients are incorporated. Baking it at the time suggested left it soupy, and after an 1 1/2 hours of baking, it was creamy, which is what I'm not used to. I found that using all of the crumbled cornbread gave the dressing more texture after it was baked. Also, the amount of dried sage listed on the ingredients is way too much and would overpower the dish. I suggest using 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was very good and had wonderful flavor. I used onion powder though about 1/2 tsp and some dried celery about 2 T. I used packaged corn bread crumbs Pepperidge Farm brand. I left out the eggs. Great recipe, just like grandma always made. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have used this recipe quite often and it is great everytime...I do recommend only using 1 egg, or at least I prefer it that way...less cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbelcher
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Right on! This is the family recipe I've been trying to find. It's just right and the family loved it -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Made this tonite..first time I've ever made dressing..I thought it was great. Followed the directions exactly as written. Dressing was a little more moist than I've eaten before, but I thought that was a plus. This is on my side dish list definately. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States