Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. We made cornbread using cornmeal so we could determine how sweet or not sweet to make the cornbread. I also changed the amount of sage used (I cut it to 1/2 of what the recipe calls for). We also added stock slowly until the dressing reached the correct consistency that we wanted. We did not use all the stock. Thank you for the great recipes, it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have never made dressing from scratch but after reading these amazing reviews I decided to give this one a try. It was absolutely the very best cornbread dressing that I have ever had!!!! Now I made some changes. I used 2 boxes of Jiffy and accidentally messed up the recipe, I added way to much milk and ended up adding more corn meal to it (I was following the pancake recipe on the box, oops*) it ended up cutting the sugar, to my delight. I used fresh Sage, added turkey meat, and I used a cup of turkey drippings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this for my family. It was my first Thanksgiving in my new home and my family and in laws loved it! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it was a hit. Its so easy to make you cant go wrong. This will now be the recipe I use all the time thnx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This tasted awesome. I used 2 boxes of the Jiffy cornbread mix and double the directions for the box and used a 8x8 pan to cook both boxes together. In the end I only used half of the cooked cornbread to equal 3 cups so not sure if you can just use an 8oz mix instead. Then I did use a 9x13 pan to cook the entire thing and thought it was thin in the end. So again for me if you want a thicker dressing maybe use a smaller pan and cook a bit longer. Other than these things and not sure if I did something wrong, this is a keeper. The flavor is fantastic, it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Pretty good. I felt like it had a bit too much sage in it, but everyone else thought it was good. Will probably make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a GREAT and easy recipe. I followed the directions to spec. I also modified it for my husband who needs wheat free, gluten free and dairy free foods. I substitued Bob's Red Mill Cornbread mix and made it. I use egg whites no yolk because he is allergic to the yolk. I didn't use any butter. He loved his version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Top shelf. Part of this year's Thanksgiving meal. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I've only made dressing once before and didn't like the results, but this recipe worked out very well for me. I started by making a 9X13 pan of the Buttery Corn Bread from this site with all sugar except one tablespoon omitted (very important as it's normally very sweet) and let it sit covered on the counter for two days. It yielded at least double the amount of cornbread I needed, so I doubled the liquid and increased the vegetables and seasoning to taste. I also added a pound of crumbled sausage. It made a very full 9X13 pan of dressing with the extra cornbread and sausage. I assembled it the day before Thanksgiving and refrigerated it overnight, then baked it in the morning. Due to the extra liquid I used, I bumped the temperature up to 400 and baked a few extra minutes to make everything meld and absorb. Good texture and taste-- everyone liked it at Thanksgiving dinner, and I'd definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
good basic receipe. I used poultry seasoning and added crispy bacon before baking. just like grandma use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
It was my first time ever making dressing. Great recipe love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States