Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used jiffy instead of the non sweet corn bread. it was very good and was a hit at thanksgiving. I used about 4 cups of jiffy instead of 3 so it wouldn't be as runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner! My family and guests truly enjoyed it and wanted more even though I doubled the recipe!! Easy recipe to follow, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My granny is very picky about dressing. Normally we purchase dressing from a restaurant on Thanksgiving, but I decided to make it this year. I followed the directions exactly except I had chicken broth rather than chicken stock. For cornbread I used the recipe on the back of a bag of cornmeal. I thought the recipe was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. Even granny approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This turned out great. Made it for Thanksgiving and it got raved reviews. I chopped the celery and onions very fine and cooked them well. Also I used 1 teaspoon of ground sage. As for the corn bread, I used 2 boxes of jiffy and added 1 tablespoon of sugar. I baked it the night before. I used most of the corn bread to make the dressing. Use one can of chicken broth with between 1/4 & 1/2 cup of water. It will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have to say I was not a big fan of this dish. I don't know what happened but it didn't turn out good. I needed an allergy friendly recipe for Thanksgiving so I used a homemade cornbread mix (that turned out great.) I also added a diced carrot with the onion and celery. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I like my dressing a little brick-ier and less crumbly. Next time I'll add more egg and broth for a wetter batter, but this is a wonderful recipe and tastes just like what I ate as a kid in Texas. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made my cornbread broke it up adding some chicken broth left over from a chicken I'd baked. It'd been so long since I'd done dressing I'd forgotten the next step. Well I searched the internet and was so grateful to find this recipe identical to what I'd done in the past minuse the SAGE and salt and pepper :) Well I mixed in 4 or 5 eggs poured the turkey broth from the turkey and and sauteed the celery and onions.he dressing was a GREAT SUCCESS!!!! Thank you so MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was awesome, thank you for sharing. I must admit that this recipe was my life saver for thanksgiving dinner. This was so tasty and delicious my son who neverrrrrr eats stuffing said it was great. I will continue to make this our thanksgiving stuffing tradition. Small changes like adding a small amount of sugar in the corm bread omited the salt and pepper it doesnt need it. so simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have been using this recipe for the last three years...I thought I would try something new this year but the whole family that I cook for said NO!! It is a hit for our family and is still good when you accidently use sweet corn bread (ha ha...opps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this recipe when I was in the States and I have to say it is absolutely delicious. Now that I'm back in France I have to make my own cornbread. How many cups of it do I need do make this good dressing ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States