Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've made this each year for Thanksgiving for the past 3 years (at least) and for some reason this year, I realized that it is way too moist for me, that it takes away from the nostalgic dressing/stuffing from my childhood! I think it tastes great, but the texture is off. I think next year I will make more corn bread to add to the mix, as well as less chicken stock to make it "breadier." Overall, I love the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was really good. I did use Jiffy mix. It was still good, but would have been better with corn meal without sugar. I used one tbsp more of sage and that really added to it. I also put a little bit more chicken stock in it and it had an awesome texture to it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Did this for the first Christmas when we brined out turkey...one of best dinners ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used buttermilk corn bread mix which I baked it in a 9 inch cast iron skillet the day before. This amount worked well when I made the dressing the next day in a 9x13 baking dish. I also added 1/2 pound of browned crumbled breakfast sausage. Very nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this with Gluten Free corn bread & it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Nobody I know uses a boxed mix because they contain sugar and that's a "sin" to a Southerner. I made my cornbread from scratch. It was pretty good, but too crumbly to me. Will use more broth and egg next time. Also add more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used jiffy instead of the non sweet corn bread. it was very good and was a hit at thanksgiving. I used about 4 cups of jiffy instead of 3 so it wouldn't be as runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner! My family and guests truly enjoyed it and wanted more even though I doubled the recipe!! Easy recipe to follow, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My granny is very picky about dressing. Normally we purchase dressing from a restaurant on Thanksgiving, but I decided to make it this year. I followed the directions exactly except I had chicken broth rather than chicken stock. For cornbread I used the recipe on the back of a bag of cornmeal. I thought the recipe was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. Even granny approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States