Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Used this recipe this year. Made my cornbread with stone ground corn meal and no sugar. No changes other than seasoning to taste.. and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! This was exactly the taste of dressing from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for a small get together. I added a little more sage,a cup of shredded chicken breast, the rest of the corn bread, and an additional quarter cup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have lived my whole life in the South and this recipe is similar to the way my family has made cornbread dressing for generations. We don't saute the onions and celery because they cook in the dressing. We always use stock from the turkey, so be sure to put a little water in the pan where you roast the turkey or else make some homemade stock. The canned stuff doesn't cut it. Pour the stock, the amount depends on the amount of cornbread and biscuit you have. I always add a few biscuits. Crumble the cornbread fine. When the stock has soaked into the cornbread add the eggs, onions, and celery and then add buttermilk until the dressing makes a batter. Put in some sage and wait a while and then taste. Sage gets stronger when it sets. Add some dryed basil,garlic, salt and black pepper,and refrigerate overnight. Bake at 400 and baste with butter several times as the dressing cooks. When you take it out of the refrigerator you might have to add some more liquid because it tends to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I did not like it for the fact that it is too dry and has too much sage, so what I did was added bell peppers in my sauté or if you do not like to cut up fresh veggies you can just buy the seasoning blend bag in your grocery store freezer and I used 1 box of Jiffy mix and then I use the same box and measured my white corn meal to cut the sugar from the Jiffy. As an added bonus, I add 1 box of stove top to my cornbread mixture and I add broth from boiling chicken thighs or leg quarters ( any other meat causes dryness)...I do not use eggs at all. Because the Stove top has seasoning in it, I don't added any salt and pepper but I do sprinkle poultry and sage seasoning on the top of the mixture and then mix in. I also add a can of milk. For added broth if it is too stiff I add chicken broth. I have made this dressing for three years and every year someone wants me to make them a pan or give them the recipe. I think I will post it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is almost the recipe I use, except I make two batches of homemade cornbread in my cast iron skillet. I mince the celery and onion instead of chopping it, and I do like my Granny always did, add in a can of cream of chicken soup! After you crumble the cornbread then add in the butter/veggies (I use one stick butter.) add the can of soup, the the chicken stock. After mixing, the mixture should look almost like pancake batter. If it's not really wet, you'll have dry dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
That is way too much sage. I have made this recipe for years and never use over 1/2 teaspoon or it is overwhelming. I do use the dried, rubbed sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Cornbread dressing has been in my family for generations. The only difference in ours is that they would boil a chicken breast and chop it real fine and mix it in. They would also add a little bet of poultry seasoning too. I fix it every year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We make Corn Bread stuffing all the time. I make it the same way as the recipe states, the only difference is that I use Jiffy CB mix and I haven't tried it with sage. I think I will add sage to see what it taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin for 4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This sounds like my grandma's dressing except she added cayenne pepper, gives it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have a recipe I have used for 35 years that is similar and uses poultry seasoning in place of the sage uses pepper but no salt. The broth usually has enough salt in it without extra. I am the only one in the family that does the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States