Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It probably would have been better if I hadn't taken the advice of other reviewers and decreased the chicken broth. Mine came out very dry. The taste was OK, just not something I was looking for in a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My first time making dressing/stuffing other than Stove Top. Had never made homemade cornbread before either and this recipe didn't really tell you how to do that but I liked the rest of the recipe and the comments... Some of the commenters mentioned corn bread meal/corn bread mix -- I settled on Publix brand cornbread mix. Followed their recipe on the packing and it was delicious. Then I followed THIS recipe using chicken stock, onions, celery (plus some pecans--minus the sage, didn't have any) and it really was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This seems like a pretty generic recipe for cornbread dressing. I am looking for that homemade cornbread dressing. I believe this recipe lacked a certain element that would have added that flavor that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Loved this stuffing. This Thanksgiving was my first attempt at making stuffing after watching my mom do it for years. I added one pack of pork ground sausage after frying it into crumbles, then I cooked the celery and onions in the leftover fat. Other than that, no changes made. I am official.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very great recipe.... I have used this one for over 16 years. To liven it up a little and since it has celery, onion, I only use 1 1/ 4 cups of broth and add a whole can of cream of mushroom soup and 4 oz of sour cream mixed together, reserving the rest of the broth to add in case it is to dry. Give it a try.. Its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I add a couple of chopped up hard boild eggs as well... Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've been trying to duplicate my mom's recipe but she doesn't follow one.Just a little bit of this and that. But now here's a recipe with exact measurements! Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I think this is a great recipe for a beginner!!! I only used the same ingredients, in the same amounts. I only added the sage to the cornbread ( a suggestion from a friend. I added turkey necks ( something my family always did). I boiled the necks, with salt and pepper. Instead of chicken stock (Oh I guess I did change something), I used the broth from the Turkey. I took the meat off the bones, and just added it for taste. My first time making dressing. It came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tasty, but pasty! I must have done something wrong. This never set up. After 30 minutes of cooking it was still soupy. After 2 1/2 hours it was still pasty. The flavor was quite good, but since I have no idea what I did wrong, I won't make it again. Looking for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious! I did use the Jiffy brand corn muffin mix, but made 2 boxes of that instead of one. Increased the celery/onions to about 1 1/2 cups total. Used 3 eggs and cut back on the sage to 1 teaspoon. Used approx. 3 cups of chicken stock. Turned out great and everyone loved it! Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States