Grandma's Coconut Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sunshine Blair
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Our family loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Blair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
My pie never did set up. Very runny and I cooked an extra 30 minutes. Top was a beautiful golden brown but I have no idea what happened as I followed the recipe to the letter. Also, I do think it has too much butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Way too much sugar and butter. I will just look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made this once and now everyone asks me to make them for any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was a very dielicious pie! Flaky on top- and not overly sweet. I threw in a few chopped pecans that I had left over (about 1/2 cup) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
AMAZING! I made the recipe as it states, except I made a homemade crust from graham crackers and macadamia nuts. It was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
After years of making these I lost the piece of paper with the recipe on it. This is the only way to make these. I see a lot of recipes that call for flour in the mixture and I shudder to think what that would do to the custardy texture. My husband could not stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this pie for my bake sale, Oh Boy! i wouldn't change a thing. It has become my regular bake sale Item. Thanks Patsy and Grandma. Love Life,People and bless others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was delicious!!! I took it to a Easter party we had at my families house and everyone loved it! My Grandma even told someone she didn't think I made it...she thought I had bought it from someone! This will be a recipe I continue to make for years to come! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States