Grandma's Cocoa Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I was not impressed with this pie.. Just a little too thick more like a fudge pie..reducing the amount of flour may help..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I wanted to try this recipe, but where is the butter ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I added 2 tbl butter and a 1/2 c more milk and it turned out alright. I gave it 3 stars because of the confusion. But other then that it was not bad but I don't see myself making it again any time soon. tks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DevinsMyNo.1Fan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is like my grandmother's with the exception that the butter was missing. I put in a couple teaspoons of butter and voila! Yes, it is thick but that simply means that the pie won't crumble. I've made the filling thinner but the pie didn't hold togeather as well as this one. I've saved the recipe and will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheribelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have been looking so long for this very recipe.My great grandmother used to make these for me every christmas.I lost my recipe 5 yrs ago.This is the very same one.I have searched for 3 yrs for Thank You so much for posting it! It realy is 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been making this pie for years. A helpful hint: Use 3 cups milk. It works fine and still sets. You can also reduce the egg yolks to 3. Great for pudding for the kids too! Also don't forget the butter. Two tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I love to bake and use all recipes almost every day, this recipe does not work. The filling is very watery and the meringue is off. If you look at other meringue recipes you'll see that the ratio is always 4 egg whites to 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 tsp cream of tarter. I made grandma's lemon meringue pie yesterday and turned out beautiful, next time will add cornstarch, more cocoa and use standard meringue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Almost like the ones Mom makes,just a tad different,but excellant nonetheless! I don't understand what gave other reviewers problems,I made it exactly like the recipe and mine came out perfect...even my meringue was great,and it was only my second time making meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have tried several chocolate pie recipes to please my husband. I finally found one! He loves it! So I will keep this one handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States