Grandma's Clover Leaf Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this recipe, with a few modifications, for the first time on Thanksgiving. It was just my immediate family (and I had a roll of crescents for back up!) so I figured why not experiment. They turned out great and I will use again I am sure. We are a wheat bread family, but I have always wanted a soft white dinner roll recipe for special meals. (I may experiment with wheat flour for everyday rolls sometime.) I put the warm water and yeast in the bowl of my bread machine to proof. I then scalded the milk in a small sauce pan, dissolved the sugar, salt and butter (instead of shortening) and added this mixture to the machine. I added 1 tsp of vanilla to the recipe for sweetness and used 3.5 cups of A/P flour instead of 3 1/3. I set the machine on dough setting for 1.5 pound loaf size. My machine took just under 2 hours to complete, and the dough came out perfectly, no mess or worry about rising. My 5 year old daughter and I then made 1.5 inch balls and placed in two round cake pans that I lightly buttered, close but not touching. Each pan held 10 rolls. I covered with a towel and let rise for appx. 1 hour until they doubled in size, filled the pan and were touching side by side. I baked at 400 for 15 minutes then brushed the tops with butter. They were really wonderful and great addition to the table (and leftovers!). I realize this is a big deviation from the recipe, but for those of you who want to simplify things with a bread machine, I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've been looking for a good dinner roll recipe for a while and tried these with good results. The texture of these rolls is like a super fresh store bought hamburger bun, and the flavor is wonderful (I added a little extra sugar). I thought the dough had a nice consistency, rose well, and was pretty easy to work with. I prefer a little coarser texture to the crumb, and next time, I may reduce the flour and some of the shortening to try for a little drier texture. Otherwise, very similar to my "grandma's" dinner rolls, which we all know, are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notmuchofacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Albin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe except used my breard machine for dough cycle. Awesome yeast roll recipe! Will use again and again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
excellent recipe..i increased sugar to 1/2 c. made 2 dozen rolls and all were gone in one day..we love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tirtzah
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
The rolls turned out delicious, however next time I'm going to add more sugar. I kneaded the dough instead of simply stirring it, and I placed the dough in a bowl on a warm stove, so the rise time was reduced to one hour for the first rise, and less than an hour while the rolls were in the pan. Also, they baked for only 10 minutes at 400 degrees. The pic of the rolls on a glass plate are mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made these in the bread machine twice now and I can't stop eating them! They are wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My fiance and I made these together for our family Thanksgiving dinner and went by the recipe except we doubled it making two pans full . They turned out perfectly . I will use this recipe again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tractorqueen2012

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Ridge, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bourbon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Not good at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have never made dinner rolls before so I found this one to start with. I have made these about 5 times now and they are so good! Just a tip, i grease the bowl with a cooking spray and then once the dough is in the bowl, i spray the dough with the spray too- then I am not trying to turn it over. The dough will rise bigger if put in an especially warm place in the kitchen- I use the stove top on one of the rings near the one used for heating the milk. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
this recipe was so easy to make and my family loved it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States