Grandma's Clover Leaf Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I only gave this 3 stars because although they were good when just out of the oven, they go hard quickly and for the time needed I would make my regular bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Brownie, these were excellent. Very similar to my Grandma's rolls - the ones she'd make without a recipe she made them so often :) The only change I made was to use buttermilk instead of the milk. It added the nice tang. I also used half butter, half shortening (butter flavored Crisco) and they turned out lovely with a nice crumb, tender and soft. Also, I left my dough very sticky.. a bit less flour, so reserve that last 1/3 cup to add a couple tablespoons at a time at the end of the mixing cycle in my Kitchenaid and gave it a 5 minute knead. It helps to lighten them a bit. I didn't make them cloverleaf style, but rather made 12 rolls in a 13x9 pan. Brushed them with a bit of melted butter after baking and yikes.. they were gone in a flash! Thank you for sharing - this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
brownie, these rolls were excellent. I used the recipe just as you gave it. The family loved them and tells me I need to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
use veg oil on hands when rolling the balls, the rolls will brown even, and will stay soft when cooled, if any is leftover. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Made these today to accompany Split Pea and Ham soup. They were super easy to make and were a huge hit! Next time I will use less sugar and will lower the oven temp. I am working with a new oven and haven't discovered its' lil quirks as of yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
love them!! love them!! at one point couldnt get my family 2 eat dinner rolls from scratch perhaps its the xtra sugar i put in it and the butter instead of crisco... well gotta go im making rolls 2 nite 4 dinner and like 2 do them early in the day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
this recipe was so easy to make and my family loved it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have never made dinner rolls before so I found this one to start with. I have made these about 5 times now and they are so good! Just a tip, i grease the bowl with a cooking spray and then once the dough is in the bowl, i spray the dough with the spray too- then I am not trying to turn it over. The dough will rise bigger if put in an especially warm place in the kitchen- I use the stove top on one of the rings near the one used for heating the milk. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Not good at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My fiance and I made these together for our family Thanksgiving dinner and went by the recipe except we doubled it making two pans full . They turned out perfectly . I will use this recipe again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tractorqueen2012

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Ridge, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bourbon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States