Grandma's Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Wonderful. Marvelous! Love the three different types of onions. I did make mine with beef liver simmered in beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made both this recipe (Grandma's Chopped Liver) and Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver for a gathering of six friends, including 3 chopped-liver lovers, 2 who'd never had it, and one who grew up with it but does NOT like it. Everyone was required to taste it, and I took a vote on who liked which one the best. All 6 people declared both recipes delicious, but four people voted this one their favorite, including the person who did not like the chopped liver of his childhood. Two people commented that this recipe resembles pate. This is because the boiled onions give off moisture when the mixture is put through the grinder, so it has a smoother consistency. This one also had a deeper, more layered flavor because the livers are simmered in chicken stock for an hour. (They were so good, I ate a few whole.) I'll be making this recipe often. I might try sauteing celery with the onion next time just to add another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Hi everyone, I am making this for the second time, and it is DELISH. So try it, if you like liver. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is close to my grandmother's recipe, but to give it fives stars I have to make a few small changes. Use just one (1) large sweet onion, two (2)stalks celery without the tops, three (3) hard cooked eggs and schmaltz (rendered chicken fat) in place of the oil. When I have time I used the grinder, but in a pinch you can use the food processor. Cut the onion and celery into large pieces. Coarsely process the celery and onion. Add the eggs and then add the liver and process a few seconds, until all the ingredients are combined. Add the Schmaltz (to taste) by hand. Season with kosher salt --you'll use a few spoonfuls--and black pepper. Serve on sliced rye bread or matzoh crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Really good! My wife doesn't care for liver so I nibbled on it all week long, loving every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for my mom who loves chopped liver. She said it had a terrific flavor, but the texture was not as firm as she would have liked. I think the next time I would either omit the boiled onion, or only put about 1/4-1/2 of it in as it was very juicy and watered the liver down a little too much. Otherwise, this was a great recipe and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for the first time for a Elderly friend that was craving "Chopped Liver" like in the big city. I added one more hard boiled egg than recommended and 1 tbsp. of Hot Hungarian Paprika. Cleaning the membranes from the livers was alittle laabor intensive ( but worth it ) and I soaked the raw livers overnight in milk ( suggested by another entry ) to tenderize them. I thought the recipe was delicious, my elderly friend said "Well..the taste isn't what I am used to, but it is still good!" ...So at least I tryed to please a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
It doesn't say to drain the water (chicken broth) but I assumed that's what I was supposed to do... I used CALF Liver instead of the chicken and I cooked it with the whole eggs (to hard boil them) and one (opened) egg in with it. Made this for my husband, he really liked it, and is NOT a "Liver Lover."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
So delicious! Reminds me of Passover with the family as a kid. I used to think chopped liver was SO gross and couldn't understand why the grownups found it so tasty. Now that I'm living away from my family, I kinda got nostalgic and had a weird craving. Followed this recipe exactly, and it came out DELICIOUS! I have a feeling the whole thing will be gone by tomorrow. Just another case of the grownups being right. I guess sometimes they do know what's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was pretty tasteless. Next time, I'll go back to starting off with sautéing the liver with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States