Grandma's Chicken Soup with Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the same recipe I've always used (just want home to double check my recipe, so I looked this up to find a similar one), but I use milk instead of water...fantastic!!! Also, if you sprinklea thick layer of flour on top then roll up the noodle mixture before cutting, then cut, you can get thinner noodles if you want. Also, I lay the mixer out for a couple hours to dry...evenly on both sides. They hold up better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinejk
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used 6 boneless skinless chicken breasts and also added carrots, onions, and celery for color. My broth didn't look as thick as what was in the picture but it still turned out delicious. I had to use 6 tbsp of water for the noodles in order to get it to form into a ball. It was hard to roll the dough thin enough. I ended up rolling it in smaller pieces so I could get the noodles thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I was looking for a chicken and noodle recipe that didn't call for canned soup in it and something close to what my grandma makes. This recipe was easy to follow. I didn't use chicken breasts instead I used drumsticks (I already had them) and I didn't use a gallon of chicken stock I used 2 cans of chicken broth(that's all I had) and 3 cups of water. Flavor was good but I was not satisfied with the noodles because they weren't cooked long enough even though I cooked them for 25 minutes. I will definitely try again but I'll make sure my noodles cook throughly :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Five stars for the noodles alone. Super simple and delicious. I had great results cutting the dough with my pizza cutter. I liked that the noodles weren't completely uniform, were clearly homemade and were more rustic. They puff up a lot when cooked, so I would err on the side of cutting them pretty thin vs the recommended size or bigger. I also thought the noodles were even way better the next day after they sat overnight in the broth. Texture was incredible. Pillowy but still a bit firm. These are too simple for excuses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe with 30 four year olds and it was easy for them to roll out and make thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Won first prize at a soup cook off with this one year. My kids love it took me awhile to come close to "gramma's" soup even with her recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent noodles! Exactly as we like them... hearty and thick! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States