Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
With a little creativity, this became one of the best soups I have ever made. I started off mixing low sodium broth with regular sodium to cut the salt. (I like the flavors to come from other ingredients.) The key is to add an ENTIRE cooked rotisserie chicken to the broth with the veggies. Be sure to pour in the drippings from the pan. Let this simmer for about 15 minutes, then remove chicken and add the meat back in. This gives it the most amazing flavor! I also added peas, carrots, fresh garlic, basil, bay leaves and fresh cracked pepper. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Thank goodness for everyone sharing their reviews. I made this last night for a good friend who is just home from surgery and she gobbled down 2 bowls as soon as I showed up. Here's what I did: 12 cups chicken broth is 96 oz., which is 2 large cans of broth. I bought one regular can and one low fat/low sodium and tossed about a teaspoon or so more salt in throughout the cooking process. Also made it easy on myself and picked up a roasted chicken from the grocery store; it's cheap, easy, has great flavor and really makes the soup chock full of chicken. I tossed in about 1/2 bag of frozen carrot slices along with the onions and celery and also just tossed the noodles directly into the soup to cook. I added a little black pepper for some pep. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Well if you attempt to make this soup, do so using your common sense. If you don't like things salty, well then omit some of the salt, because it is obvious that the broth will pretty much contain any salt needed. I used my own broth from scratch & added carrots (whats chicken soup without carrots?) I used small pasta shells (out of egg noodles - sick of shopping), which I didn't add oil to. Salt to taste after the starch, because that is when your going to need it. Thanks & Happy Holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Just had a bowl at work for lunch -- delicious! I read all reviews and made the following changes: Used 6 cans reg chicken broth, 6 cans low sodium. Brought it all to a boil and added 1 cup each chopped onion, celery and carrots. Added noodles, 2 bay leaves, 1 clove chopped garlic, fresh black pepper and oregano. Added an ENTIRE rotissierie chicken and covered. Simmered fifteen minutes and then took chicken out, removed meat and put back in pot. Simmered thirty more minutes. I'm taking it to a sick friend today -- it does make a TON so next time will freeze some for this winter. I'm usually not one to change recipes, but followed other's advice and it turned out great -- not too salty as so many posters have noted. The key is using half low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Good standard chicken noodle soup. Save yourself a step...don't pre cook the egg noodles. Throw them in about 15 mins. before you plan on serving. Cooking the soup longer wont hurt it and you'll be minus one pot for clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I have made this soup 5 times now and everyone can not get enough. I even give it out to friends. We're not big on salt so I think it's safe to say a teaspoon is plenty. I bake 6 chicken breasts (with skin and bone) first, and cube the meat as soon as they're cooled. I also add carrots. College Inn chicken stock is the stock to use! and Mullers extra wide noodles. They stay firm. I throw in a couple of the breast bones when simmering for more flavor and remove later. What a wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Sorry, but I just don't see what's so great about this particular recipe. Can't figure out what everyone's raving about. It's good, but not great. You don't need oil to cook pasta, the oil just floats to the top of the water. Just stirring the pasts every so often while it's cooking is sufficent. And you don't need salt to cook your pasta either. And the AMOUNT of salt called for in this recipe! WOW! Who needs all that salt? There's plenty of salt in the canned chicken broth. Even if your using homemade broth, you still don't need that amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Now I remember why I have always stuck to my mom's chicken noodle soup recipe...this was a disaster! I read the reviews carefully and omitted the salt, added extra celery, 1 1/2cup cut carrots and reduced the broth to 10 1/2 cups. However, although I was going to add potato flakes instead of cornstarch, I put the potato flakes away and used cornstarch. I poured the "mix" in slowly but a chemical reaction occurred causing the soup to "foam" over...I lost apprx another cup and a half (which is now all over my stove). Still, I wish I would have used potato flakes because the cornstarch gave the soup almost a "fishy" flavor. Oh, most of all, chicken broth itself is high in sodium so even though I omitted the salt ingrediant, there was plenty in the 9 cups of broth left....can we say sea water? TOO SALTY and I wasted a lot of ingrediants!! Sorry, will not make again nor will I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
The grandmother who threw this recipe together has got to be long dead from high blood pressure. The amount of salt in this recipe is absolutely ridiculous. Completely drop the 1 1/2 tablespoons of salt and add some carrots and a few dashes of pepper and the recipe gets 4 instead of 3 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Excellent soup. I am a soup lover and this one is tops! Ialso added carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States