Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I make this soup all the time and freeze it in ball jars for lunches. I add carrots and leave out corn starch. I think the people that complain it is too salty are starting off with broth that is too salty. If you start with high quality broth or make it yourself, it is fine in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe. I follow instructions for the most part. We used fresh rotisserie chicken as one reviewer suggested. Boiled it for 15-20 minutes in broth. We also added a dash of oregano, dash of rosemary, dash of terragon, and added bisquick dumplings. Turned out amazing!!! :) Everyone went back for seconds! I call that a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Think they may have forgotten the carrots...I also add small amount of chopped garlic, parsley and parm..cheese..delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very yummy. I followed others advice and got a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic base recipe. I didn't have chicken broth, but I did have 2 leftover chicken frames in the freezer, so I covered those with water & let cook for about 1/2 an hour. Out they came... I measured 13 c of broth... close enough to the recipe...& took the meat off the bones. Chicken & broth out of one step! YAY! The rest of the recipe I followed from there including the amount of salt suggested (no salt when cooking down the bones). I doubled the noodles after I added the first batch to the broth...I think there should have been more... but mine were whole wheat, so that might have been the issue... and added 1/2 c carrots to the vegs when I started them to cook because I thought that would look nice. The only thing I didn't do was mix in the cornstarch... the noodles were going to be sitting awhile in the soup on the stove & I figured they would give off enough starch to thicken the broth. It is simmering on the stove right now & the house smells heavenly. As an aside, once the WW noodles have been sitting in the broth, they have expanded greatly... so I probably could have done without the extra noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
SUCH GOOD SOUP!!! Made this the other night and my husband and I couldn't stop raving about it! We are already looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I did make a few changes according to some of the comments and for what I had on hand. I used powdered instant chicken boullion (I shudder to think of the sodium content), added some shredded some carrots and left out the salt. I left the rest of the recipe the same. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Had tonight for dinner-was good. I added carrots was all-my picky 5 yr old loved the soup...it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I cook a lot but this is the first time at homemade chicken soup. We were trying to eat healthier so omitted the pasta and cornstarch. Like others, I added carrots but I cut down the salt and poultry seasoning and also added cabbage because my husband wanted more veggies. This is an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Hello, I tried this its great, but you can also cook the pasta right in with the soup, makes a fuller base that way, I made it with alphabet pasta this time, easier to eat at work !! but love the wide noodles the best !! Also, smoked chicken is a good idea too !! you can add just a drop or two of liquid smoke to your chicken sauté for a min. throw it in there !! wow !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debsart7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States