Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed the suggestions from other reviews; simmered an entire rotisserie chicken for 20 mins, and used only a slight sprinkling of salt. I'm not a huge fan of salt, and I agree that this recipe calls for an excess quantity of it. With the modifications, this soup is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe is great--although I'm glad I looked at the reviews before making it. I tweaked a couple things and this turned out beautifully. I used half low sodium/half regular organic chicken stock and a whole rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. I also found organic fresh herbs in a "poultry seasoning" bundle (rosemary, thyme, sage). Simmered the whole chicken in with the broth, the fresh herbs, and some fresh ground pepper for about 20 minutes. Removed the chicken and cut the meat into chucks. Added the chicken back with diced carrots, celery, and onion (I sauteed the celery and onion in butter first--yum!) and cornstarch thickener. I added the noodles last and let them cook in the broth, no need to cook them first. I thought the cornstarch thickener was a nice addition--it gave the broth a little more body and smoothness. My husband LOVED this recipe--and I will be using it for turkey soup at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Super easy and super delicious. I used a whole 16 oz bag of noodles and one whole rotisserie chicken and it was the perfect amount. My kids love lots of noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
It was great. I added some baby carrots because my family loves baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Easy prep, inexpensive very good soup! I have to agree with a lot of the reviews the salt is a little over kill. Use sodium free broth, or a 1/2 teaspoon at first then add to taste. I used a clove of minced garlic, and carrot as well. If you enjoy a little spice i added a teaspoon of sriracha as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I boiled the noodles in 12 cups of water, removed them with a slotted spoon, and then used the same pasta water to boil a chicken with chunks of celery, carrots, onion, and garlic for 1 1/2 hr. I removed the chicken to cool, then strained the water to use as a base for my chicken broth. I then proceeded to follow the recipe as written, using only 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning (my preference), adding carrots, and adjusting the salt to taste. I only had medium noodles, but felt wide noodles would have held up better. This is a true classic, comforting soup that has now become my go-to chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was a good recipe I am not a big fan on chicken noodles but this was delicous. I had some broth left over it was good alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I am not a good cook by any means, however, this recipe was very simple to follow and the outcome was wonderful. My picky preschoolers begged for dinner early and asked for me to make more for tomorrow's dinner. The changes I made were simply due to what I had available: 12 boulion cubes to make the broth and minus the poultry seasoning. I baked chicken earlier in the day and pulled it. I used garlic powder,paprika,S&P. I will definitely be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is the best chicken noodle soup I've ever had!! Only made a few changes: didn't pre-cook noodles, just threw them in with the vegetables, added carrots, and the only seasonings I added to the broth were 1 t salt, 1/2 t black pepper, 1/2 t garlic powder. Perfect! I was looking forward to eating the leftovers tomorrow, but there weren't any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 131-140 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States