Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
A family favorite. I make just as written and we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
As is, it was just okay. I had some chicken breasts and boiled those first in the broth. I used 4 stalks of celery and about half a bag of baby carrots halved. I used all the ingredients specified except for the salt and finding flavor lacking I added basil, thyme, oregano, pepper and garlic salt. This made it edible... It's probably better if you use a whole roast chicken already seasoned, I just didn't have one. But I'll try another recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
first time i ever made chicken noodle soup and it turned out really really good !!! i added my special seasonings to it my family thought it was better then the family restuarant in our town ya me!! so putting this in my monthly menu for the cold season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very good soup, especially for the amount of time it took to prepare (the 45-minute estimate was pretty accurate for me). I added in some chopped cooked carrots along with the celery; that was the only thing that seemed to be missing. Thanks, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraKristin1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A very simple and tasty recipe! I added carrots in along with the celery and onion. I also added basil, oregano, rosemary, and dried parsley to the broth while it was boiling. By the time it took to cook everything, all of my dried seasonings were softened and added a great flavor to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this for my grandson's birthday party and didn't want to take a chance on bland soup, so followed the suggestions given by several reviewers. I doubled the recipe. I started with homemade chicken broth. I added fresh minced garlic, grated carrot, bay leaf, basil, and pepper. I used all the salt called for. I cooked the wide noodles in the broth, then added the cornstarch and chicken. I also made broccoli/cheese soup and homemade whole wheat rolls and the guests raved about it all! Many said it was the best chicken soup they'd had. Thanks for helping me be known as a great cook!°Ü°
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made this today for my lunch . It was easy full of flavor. I didn't have to go to Krogers to pick up campbells chunky soup.This was so much better. It took 45 minutes, really!I love you all you make me feel good about cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed the suggestions from other reviews; simmered an entire rotisserie chicken for 20 mins, and used only a slight sprinkling of salt. I'm not a huge fan of salt, and I agree that this recipe calls for an excess quantity of it. With the modifications, this soup is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe is great--although I'm glad I looked at the reviews before making it. I tweaked a couple things and this turned out beautifully. I used half low sodium/half regular organic chicken stock and a whole rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. I also found organic fresh herbs in a "poultry seasoning" bundle (rosemary, thyme, sage). Simmered the whole chicken in with the broth, the fresh herbs, and some fresh ground pepper for about 20 minutes. Removed the chicken and cut the meat into chucks. Added the chicken back with diced carrots, celery, and onion (I sauteed the celery and onion in butter first--yum!) and cornstarch thickener. I added the noodles last and let them cook in the broth, no need to cook them first. I thought the cornstarch thickener was a nice addition--it gave the broth a little more body and smoothness. My husband LOVED this recipe--and I will be using it for turkey soup at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Super easy and super delicious. I used a whole 16 oz bag of noodles and one whole rotisserie chicken and it was the perfect amount. My kids love lots of noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States