Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic base recipe. I didn't have chicken broth, but I did have 2 leftover chicken frames in the freezer, so I covered those with water & let cook for about 1/2 an hour. Out they came... I measured 13 c of broth... close enough to the recipe...& took the meat off the bones. Chicken & broth out of one step! YAY! The rest of the recipe I followed from there including the amount of salt suggested (no salt when cooking down the bones). I doubled the noodles after I added the first batch to the broth...I think there should have been more... but mine were whole wheat, so that might have been the issue... and added 1/2 c carrots to the vegs when I started them to cook because I thought that would look nice. The only thing I didn't do was mix in the cornstarch... the noodles were going to be sitting awhile in the soup on the stove & I figured they would give off enough starch to thicken the broth. It is simmering on the stove right now & the house smells heavenly. As an aside, once the WW noodles have been sitting in the broth, they have expanded greatly... so I probably could have done without the extra noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
SUCH GOOD SOUP!!! Made this the other night and my husband and I couldn't stop raving about it! We are already looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I did make a few changes according to some of the comments and for what I had on hand. I used powdered instant chicken boullion (I shudder to think of the sodium content), added some shredded some carrots and left out the salt. I left the rest of the recipe the same. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Had tonight for dinner-was good. I added carrots was all-my picky 5 yr old loved the soup...it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I cook a lot but this is the first time at homemade chicken soup. We were trying to eat healthier so omitted the pasta and cornstarch. Like others, I added carrots but I cut down the salt and poultry seasoning and also added cabbage because my husband wanted more veggies. This is an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Hello, I tried this its great, but you can also cook the pasta right in with the soup, makes a fuller base that way, I made it with alphabet pasta this time, easier to eat at work !! but love the wide noodles the best !! Also, smoked chicken is a good idea too !! you can add just a drop or two of liquid smoke to your chicken sauté for a min. throw it in there !! wow !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debsart7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it today for my family and they loved it. Always found the restaurant style chicken noodle soups to be too salty. This was great in that I could control all the ingredients and it was very simple. I didn't change except for leaving off the onions and adding in celery instead. Altogether, from preparation to cooking, it took about 60-75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Just made this and it's great! Added sliced carrots to the celery and onion and lots of black pepper -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I love a good bowl of soup but this is the best of the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bogdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good! I did as other suggested and added peas, carrots a clove of garlic, basil, oregano, 2 bay leaves and pepper. I also omitted the salt. Yum! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States