Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I did things a little differently. I didn't cook the noodle ahead of time as that would be silly. Sauteed the onion, celery and carrots in a pot with butter, poured in the chicken broth, had the chicken cooking in a separate pot. Once the broth was boiling I added the egg noodles, and began chopping the chicken into small cubes. Added that and some poultry seasoning, salt and pepper. I let it simmer for about 20 minutes while I made some grilled cheese to go along with it. Came out great! Hubby was happy and we had left over soup for lunch the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaZia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Finally found a chicken noodle soup that the whole family (including 4 kids aged 5-9) like. I left out the onion since not all the kids like it and took the suggestion of other reviewers to put in a whole Rotisserie chicken for 15 minutes (then pulled it out, chopped up the chicken and added it back to the soup). Used extra wide homestyle egg noodles. For broth, in order to cut back on sodium and spend less money, I only bought 2 containers of broth - one regular and one low sodium. That was about 7 cups. For the remaining 5 cups, I just added water. I left out the extra salt called for in the recipe until the end. After boiling the noodles directly in the soup, I taste tested and added just 1/2 tsp more salt, and it was plenty salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Great recipe I have made more times than I can remember!!! I know this is suppose to be an easy recipe but, I'm old fashioned along with being budget wise. I buy the 10 lb. bags of chicken leg quarters at Wal Mart ( $5.90 this week) and make my own broth. I refrigerate the broth over night, skim the now hardened fat off and freeze the extra broth in usable amounts. I also now have lots of chicken meat for this soup and broth and chicken to freeze so I can make soup in a jiffy at a later date. I use 1/2 the amount of poultry seasoning and no cornstarch as I use Kaluski noodles ( or homemade) which have flour on them. I also blend the veggies from the broth I made and add to the soup which gives it a wonderful flavor. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Too much sage taste for my taste's, I'll use 1/4 tsp poultry seasonong next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
One of the best soups I have ever made. Instead of broth I used concentrated chicken stock and water. Uses a rotisserie chicken, and added extra carrots. Really helps when you feel sick so I put some extra in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
LOVE IT!!! I tweeked it a little bit - I LOVE chunky soups with lots of veggies, so I used FOUR cups celery, 2 or 3 cups shredded carrots, and 2 cups onion, as well as 3 cloves of garlic. I used only FOUR cups Chicken Broth from a box, TWO cups of drippings (I crock pot roasted the chicken and used the drippings), and four cups water. When much of the liquid boiled down, I added one to two more cups of water. It took about 30 mins to get all of the extra veggies soft. Then I added 1 can of CREAM OF CHICKEN soup with another cup of water instead of the starch/water mixture. Added chicken and noodles and let simmer. I only used 1 1/2 tsp of salt (as others suggested) and I added black pepper for a kick. DELICIOUS !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Used a rotisserie chicken and low-sodium broth, cooked the noodles in the pot, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was just what Dr. Mom ordered! I had everything on hand and made it in a jiffy for my son who just had surgery. The only thing different that I did was add a can of Cream of Celery soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Agree with others - skip the salt, add carrots and don't pree cook the noodles. Otherwise very good, quick, easy soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Really, really good and supper easy! Tasted great on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States