Grandma's Chicken Chardon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Loved it; however, I made changes on first time try based on reviews: tasteless & not crisp. Turned out great. Here are my changes... 1. 2 lg cloves of crushed garlic instead of powdered with beaten egg. As suggested by another reviewer, and no salt added, just pepper. 2. 1 cup breadcrumbs (roasted garlic crumbs) was too much, changed to 3/4 and that was still too much for 2 breasts, 29 ozs total, sliced into large sections. less than 1/4 cup parm cheese added to crumbs to balance smaller amount. 3. Used two 8 oz cans of mushrooms, could have used 4, fresh would be better even tho the canned didn't burn and tasted great - just not enough mushrooms for us. 4. Biggest change - we are not particularly fond of lemon - used a TBS. Italian Low Fat salad dressing mixed with the butter and it was excellent! 5. Baked chicken longer - until the breading felt crispy to the touch - the chicken did not dry out (even though they were slice big breasts). 6. At end, Put into the broiler Lo setting for about 5 min. to brown the crust then sprinkled mozzarella on top to melt as suggested by other readers. Came out moist (did not space the chicken apart, but lay them touching) and crisp crusty on top and the mushrooms were yummy as was the chicken. This recipe is now in my keeper book! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good choice for the family rotation. I agree with others that the cooking time is a bit too long and doubling the egg and the butter/lemon is a great idea. I butterflied my chicken breasts so cut the time down significantly. Don't skip the mushrooms...they are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My sister-in-law thought she came over for a gourmet meal when she tasted this dish. It was fast, easy, but most importantly beautiful and delicious! I used shaved parmesan cheese instead of grated which made it even better. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Loved this recipe.. Suggest to double butter/lemon mix, mushrooms, and use real minced garlic.. Makes the recipe wonderful and it's so easy to prepare!! Score for working moms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I followed the suggestions and doubled the egg mixture. Rather than salt, I used Himalayan pink salt gourmet mix that I got at Home Goods and still added pepper. I used the Italian breadcrumbs and started with less and added more as needed. No clumps that way. I still added garlic powder and that was fine. Fresh off the tree lemon used. I cut the chicken breasts into half strips so there was no huge pieces to cook through. Finally, I topped with real parmesan cheese. My family ate it up! Served with fresh green bean almandine. Top marks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a fast and yummy dinner! I have made many times for tb family and company alike and always get rave reviews and requests for the recipe. After making this recipe as written a few times, I now almost always double the amount of butter and lemon which makes a really nice sauce. I serve over angel hair pasta, add a side salad, steamed broccoli, and fresh bread - VOILA! Dinner done. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Used crushed ritz crackers with garlic and onion powder, pepper and lemon zest to coat chicken. Skipped the parmasean cheese. Lightly browned chicken before baking and spooned a little of butter mixture over chicken before baking. Added extra mushrooms but only used 1 1/2 sticks of butter with lemon juice and chopped garlic. served with broccoli and side salad. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely YUM!! Super easy to make. My 12 year old daughter even enjoyed the mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Rush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe was amazing!!! I couldn't stop eating it. It's super easy!! I used thinly sliced chicken breasts -cooked within 25 minutes. I would recommend not using a lot of the butter lemon mixture on the top of the chicken because it made it a little soggy. But overall it was great will definitiely be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States