Grandma's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Awesome. Cannot imagine this with cream cheese frosting. The glaze works because this cake was rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this with the glaze, but next time I'll stick with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I've made this cake twice already, and I will continue to make it. Sooooo rich and moist. The family devourers it. The only change I make is I use coconut cream cheese icing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I used brown sugar in the cake rahte rthan white. I am allergic to pineapple so left that out. I added 1/4 tsp ginger. Maple syrup since I was out of vanilla. I didn't have applesauce but I had apples, so I oven roasted them and blended them and used 1/3c of that and 1/4 c oil. I also threw in blueberry flavored craisins. The glaze we cut 1/4c sugar out, made our own buttermilk, and again used maple syrup instead of vanilla. After all of that, it turned out AMAZING! It was a bit too sweet for my taste, but was still delicious. Next time I will make sure I have vanilla, cut more sugar, and hopefully have some nutmeg or allspice to help balance the sweetness. I was hoping for more of spice cake taste. And my daughter says more carrot than two cups. Still, this recipe is a keeper. Super moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good cake, I added one small banana and substituted a few tablespoons of both butter and apple sauce for about half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was too different from the traditional carrot cake I used to make, was not up to par for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
GREAT Recipe!!! Moistest cake ever. My daughter made this for my birthday & passed on the recipe from this site. Best Carrot Cake we have found from NYC to Europe!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
this is the BEST carrot cake ever, my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love love this recipe....I doubled it and made a 3-layer cake with cream cheese frosting. My new go-to carrot cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made this a few times (I lost my original recipe that I used to make) and this is an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States