Grandma's Butterscotch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent just like my grandmother but def on the sweet side. I had a little trouble with it being runny, may use some evap milk next time. I used a deep dish pie crust and I had to make 1/2 the recipe again to fill the crust. I topped w merengue and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this pie for Christmas and it was absolutely deliscious. I did not use a double boiler either, and it turned out just fine. I will keep this recipe and take the pie to my next potluck because the ingredients were simple and it was so easy to make. I cannot not imagine anyone not raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this delicious pie following the directions the night before I was serving it. It was in the refrigerator for 15 hours. However, when I cut the pie, I could not lift out a piece in pie form. It was way too soft as if the filling hadn’t set. I had to use a spoon to serve the butterscotch over the pie crust. Taste was wonderful, presentation not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Was very tastey and easy to make. Topped with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Love this recipe, I have made it for many occasions. I would not try to top it with a baked meringue again as reheating it in the oven turns it into soup - my fault. I now top it with whip cream or a no bake meringue and a dusting of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta's Recipe Journal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Doubled the recipe for a 9 1/2 inch pie plate. It was a substantial looking desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe is delicious! Much better flavor than boxed butterscotch pudding. It's even better if you use a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Oh my goodness, This pie is "the" pie that you've been looking for!! This is a true old fashioned butterscotch pie!! Excellent taste & consistency. I made this for Boss's day this year and had rave reviews!! I would have rated it higher if I could have, this is an awesome pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this last night for a family gathering tonight. It was setting up beautifully until I put in the oven for those five minutes. (It never browned) When I pulled it out it was liquid. It has been in the refridgerator over night and has still yet to get to the point it was before I put it in the oven. I was thinking to myself the oven seems unnecessary but I always follow these recipes so I can give an accurate rating. I would skip the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This a pretty good pie but did not set up as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States