Grandma's Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Come out great every time- no problems. I can roll these super thin and they don't spring back. Store well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmoh005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Easy and delicious, used in chicken noodle soup made with leftover rotisserie chicken. I didn't allow drying time and I think they turned out just fine. I used lots of flour when rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
very good. I have made this quite a few times and everyone loves it! Hard to go back to boxed pastas. The buttery taste works well with a red sauce but not so much with an alfredo. I use my bread maker to mix it while I prepare the rest of dinner and it fits this recipe doubled (8 servings). I haven't tried letting it dry out a bit and rolling and cutting. I guess I've always done it the hard way and cut it all without rolling it. I used a pasta wheel for a fancy edge just bc it was easier than a pizza cutter and mine has two blades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are the best! I'm making them tonight and cooking them in chicken broth to be served with my stroganoff:))) I can hear the applause now from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Awesome noodle recipe. The flavor of these noodles is phenomenal. And, if that's not enough, I have never worked with a dough that was soooo easy to work with and roll really thin. My homemade noodles are usually a little too thick for my taste but I could get these rolled out very thin. Thank you so much sharing such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These noodles are fantastic! I substitute garlic salt for the salt in the recipe and it is excellent. I use them in chicken noodle soup, for beef and noodles, or by themselves with a little butter. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
WOW! I've never made pasta before due to intimidation. But this recipe and my mixer. Wow. I don't think i'll buy it again. Also - i made ravioli with it and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Awesome, easy to make recipe. This was my first attempt at making noddles by myself, the last time was with my grandmother almost 25 years ago! One note - don't use Kosher salt. Not a huge problem, but I had to think about what those flakes were in the noddles while they were drying :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Wanting to try whole wheat? This is the easiest fastest roll-on-the-counter whole wheat dough ever, mixing & rolling thin in no time. (If you have the space, sprinkle the dough w/flour every time you turn it over while rolling; move to the next bit of dough while you let that dough sit on the counter; later, cut the noodles using a pizza cutter; use a cookie sheet to keep cuts straight'sh). I finally read all the reviews after making these & noted that someone else who used WW added milk. Since I'm moving away from animal products a bit, I noted another poster mentioning olive oil. I'll try those changes. If neither works for us I'll still love this recipe. Another poster mentioned cutting the salt. Agreed. My daughter rolled some of this dough in our pasta maker. Her efforts worked wonderfully as well. At least without adding milk, the whole wheat made these noodles more grainy then other whole wheat noodles I've made. HOWEVER, what I love, love, love about this recipe is that this dough does handle well FAST. Better yet, it left my youngest son not wanting any more WHEN THE NOODLES WERE GONE, even though a little soup was left (okay, he's spoiled *sigh*). To me, these noodles were almost more like having whole wheat crackers (a more grainy texture than noodles) but then, at least in chicken soup, I didn't miss regular noodles or crackers at all. These were simple, quick, and yummy. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Rich buttery flavor as is. Next time I will definitely need to double or triple the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States