Grandma's Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Instead of using the 2 tsp of salt, I used 2 tsp of chicken boullion crystals and a touch of garlic powder. Gave the noodles a good rich flavor along with the chicken broth. YUM! LOVED this recipe-much easier than the one I've made for years! I also used just a little yellow food coloring just to enhance the color of the noodles...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Don't cook for 7 minutes. Bad idea. Too much dusting on the work surface can be trouble also. I use a sifter with about 80% of the bottom covered in masking tape. Despite the old wives tales, salt your noodles while cooking. What makes this recipe work is the baking powder. And this recipe works much better with a pasta roller. Also the high egg content makes this pasta good for soup. Don't even attempt to dry these noodles for later use. Wrong recipe. Four stars due to the over the top cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've been making this recipe for about 3 years now. I tried a few others on this site, but this was the easiest to work with and really good. My husband also said it was the closest to the great noodles one of his aunt's made. I use it for chicken and noodles. I also like to double the recipe for a about 2 lbs of noodles. I let them dry and then freeze them. To freeze them I layer them on baking sheets covered with waxed paper and freeze overnight. I then place into a large plastic zipper bag. It's great to have extra on hand for last minute chicken soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
These were great. So easy to roll out. I had never made homemade noodles before. They were a hit. Will do again and look forward to making flavored noodles as others have written. What a huge difference from box noodles. I needed to double the recipe for 6 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
What a yummy, easy noodle recipe to work with! Thanks Grandma :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as described to use in our chicken noodle soup. I just boiled up a test batch, and they taste like boiled eggs! Nasty for soup. I'm going to try to tweak it and get rid of the eggy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Come out great every time- no problems. I can roll these super thin and they don't spring back. Store well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmoh005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Easy and delicious, used in chicken noodle soup made with leftover rotisserie chicken. I didn't allow drying time and I think they turned out just fine. I used lots of flour when rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
very good. I have made this quite a few times and everyone loves it! Hard to go back to boxed pastas. The buttery taste works well with a red sauce but not so much with an alfredo. I use my bread maker to mix it while I prepare the rest of dinner and it fits this recipe doubled (8 servings). I haven't tried letting it dry out a bit and rolling and cutting. I guess I've always done it the hard way and cut it all without rolling it. I used a pasta wheel for a fancy edge just bc it was easier than a pizza cutter and mine has two blades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are the best! I'm making them tonight and cooking them in chicken broth to be served with my stroganoff:))) I can hear the applause now from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States