Grandma's Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Finally a dough I can roll without getting frustrated and pitching the whole mess. Followed the recipe exactly. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Very easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved the butter noodles. Very easy to make and just delicious. They remind me of my grandmother's noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
LOVE these noodles!! Perfect in every aspect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Instead of using the 2 tsp of salt, I used 2 tsp of chicken boullion crystals and a touch of garlic powder. Gave the noodles a good rich flavor along with the chicken broth. YUM! LOVED this recipe-much easier than the one I've made for years! I also used just a little yellow food coloring just to enhance the color of the noodles...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Don't cook for 7 minutes. Bad idea. Too much dusting on the work surface can be trouble also. I use a sifter with about 80% of the bottom covered in masking tape. Despite the old wives tales, salt your noodles while cooking. What makes this recipe work is the baking powder. And this recipe works much better with a pasta roller. Also the high egg content makes this pasta good for soup. Don't even attempt to dry these noodles for later use. Wrong recipe. Four stars due to the over the top cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've been making this recipe for about 3 years now. I tried a few others on this site, but this was the easiest to work with and really good. My husband also said it was the closest to the great noodles one of his aunt's made. I use it for chicken and noodles. I also like to double the recipe for a about 2 lbs of noodles. I let them dry and then freeze them. To freeze them I layer them on baking sheets covered with waxed paper and freeze overnight. I then place into a large plastic zipper bag. It's great to have extra on hand for last minute chicken soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
These were great. So easy to roll out. I had never made homemade noodles before. They were a hit. Will do again and look forward to making flavored noodles as others have written. What a huge difference from box noodles. I needed to double the recipe for 6 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
What a yummy, easy noodle recipe to work with! Thanks Grandma :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as described to use in our chicken noodle soup. I just boiled up a test batch, and they taste like boiled eggs! Nasty for soup. I'm going to try to tweak it and get rid of the eggy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States