Grandma's Brown Sugar Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I used butter instead of shortening and my cookies came out soft but not runny. I heated the baking soda and water actually to boiling in the microwave and it diluted the taste significantly. These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
with reduced baking soda (1/2 tsp) this recipe is WONDERFUL! we added chocolate chips :) Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These cookies were ok but not great. I think they are a good starting point but definitely need something else like chocolate chips or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
these are very easy to make, they taste wonderful... I recommend not putting so much baking soda in them as previously mentioned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudygirl77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These cookies were very easy to make and were delicious! will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Taste good, but really soft. Too much shortening, in my opinion. Would like to try again with butter, almond extract, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I added more brown sugar and I added some chocolate chips. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and a teaspoon of cinnamon. Wonderful cookies. Big hit with daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I did lessen the baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon. The flavor is amazing. I will make them again. I'm going to use them for ice cream sandwiches! Should be a crowed pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adorabrooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made them exactly per instructions, oh wait - no I added an extra half cup of flour and two cups of chocolate chips...12 minutes baking time. Dough was soft, not a firm cookie dough. I didn't have time to refrigerate, it could have helped. I think maybe there was a little too much baking soda - I couldn't really taste it but it seemed just a bit "off." Overall, a good tasting cookie...might try again with reducing soda and adding a bit more sugar. I wanted a brown sugar drop cookie I never heard of them before, and a friend gave me some of hers (she added chocolate chips) and I wanted the same thing...not quite though. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
used 1/2 tsp of baking soda as recommended by other posters. Very good! Took them to work and they were gone before lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States