Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good. It was a bit sweet for our liking, but overall it was a yummy dinner. I cooked it is the crock pot for 6 hours on low and followed some other reviewers advice to use 1/2 ketchup and 1/2 chili sauce. I also added 2 tsp garlic, 2 tsp Worcestershire, and 2 tsp Siracha. I also used carrots, onions, and potatoes but this would be good with any root vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
MY mother uses a similar recipe with only one change- we use water instead of ginger ale. I have never considered another option since her brisket was so good, but I may have to try it. Otherwise,the lipton onion soup and ketchup (and slow cooking at 325 for 3 hours or more) does the trick! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
easy. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very easy recipe. Didn't have ginger ale so I used a bottle of alcohol beer. Baked in Pyrex 9x12 at 300 degrees. I have my next one in the oven. Delicious. Trying it with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a simple recipe. The best recipes usually have modest ingredients. I added garlic because everything is better with garlic! I also substituted beer in place of the ginger ale. Then, I served it with rosemary potatoes and braised cabbage.Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
my Bubbie has made this all my life for every holiday. We are a large family so we always try to get as close to 5lb brisket. cook for 40 minutes per pound is perfect. also, we do not use gingerale, I substitute a equal amount of good red wine. we have always found that it is best to let cool, slice and re warm. this freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I fixed it in the crockpot and kept it on low all day. It was the best brisket I have every had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This recipe was fantastic, my family loved it!!! I bought a brisket a little over 8pds. I used 1 box of onion soup mix and one box of onion and mushroom soup mix. The vernors ginger ale tip was great. I already have request's for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Mmmmmm. Absolutely delicious. A crowd pleaser and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very good recipe. Added 2 tsp each of crushed garlic and sriracha. Cooked in crock pot on low for 6 hours. Would probably add more hot sauce next time, as we like a kick. But I'll definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States