Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe is a staple at our house; I make it at least twice a week for Shabbat dinner. I typically triple all of the ingredients. I made some minor changes to the recipe; I sprinkle the brisket with salt, black pepper & parsley flakes. I only use organic ketchup or any ketchup that DOES NOT have corn syrup in it. I have nothing against corn syrup, I've just found that the brisket has a better flavor when I use the ketchup without it. I also use Vernor's ginger soda as I've found this brand to add the best flavor without being overly sweet. Sometimes I leave the carrots out & it's still great. I cook in my convection roasting oven at 375 degrees for the recommended time. I then take the brisket out of the oven & let it rest for 15-20 minutes. Then, I slice it & put it along with the sauce in a large crock pot on low until I'm ready to serve. It's crazy but every single person that has eaten the brisket prepared this way says it's the best they've ever had & we're talking more than 60 people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I guess I missed doing somthing as it was not tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
FABULOUS recipe. I was worried that not having a marinated piece of meat would produce subpar results but this recipe is easy, flavorful, and requires no marination! I added a couple shots of worcestershire and garlic powder to the sauce. Served with boiled potatoes and green beans and carrots and drizzled the sauce on everything. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
The easiest recipe ever and the quickest to make for a large crowd. Great flavor!Use it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
We loved this brisket and it was so very easy to make. It was so tender it was falling apart. I will definitley make this again and again. I will just add more potatoes. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Not real crazy about this recipe. The sauce congealed into a thick greasy paste at the bottom of the pan after I took the lid off. I ended up having to use bottled barbecue sauce. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Best Passover brisket I have ever made- to solve ALL cooking problems -use one of those plastic cooking bags- amazing soft as butter no problem results- put all the carrots red potatoes and the like in the bag too- amazing results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Beware, this is a very sweet sauce. I even subbed half ketchup and half chili sauce and it was still too sweet. The taste was not bad, just too sweet for my family as we don't like meat to have a sweet taste. I guess I thought the soup mix would counter the sweet factor but it didn't. The brisket did turn out very tender and sliced perfectly. I rinsed the carrots off because they were coated with the sweet syrupy sauce! Didn't serve the sauce with the meat, but heated bottled bbq sauce instead. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was the first time I ever had brisket and I have to say this was a great way to prepare it. Easy and it tasted good, sort of like a roast, but not as fatty and I liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Donlon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States