Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good. It was a bit sweet for our liking, but overall it was a yummy dinner. I cooked it is the crock pot for 6 hours on low and followed some other reviewers advice to use 1/2 ketchup and 1/2 chili sauce. I also added 2 tsp garlic, 2 tsp Worcestershire, and 2 tsp Siracha. I also used carrots, onions, and potatoes but this would be good with any root vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
MY mother uses a similar recipe with only one change- we use water instead of ginger ale. I have never considered another option since her brisket was so good, but I may have to try it. Otherwise,the lipton onion soup and ketchup (and slow cooking at 325 for 3 hours or more) does the trick! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
easy. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very easy recipe. Didn't have ginger ale so I used a bottle of alcohol beer. Baked in Pyrex 9x12 at 300 degrees. I have my next one in the oven. Delicious. Trying it with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a simple recipe. The best recipes usually have modest ingredients. I added garlic because everything is better with garlic! I also substituted beer in place of the ginger ale. Then, I served it with rosemary potatoes and braised cabbage.Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
my Bubbie has made this all my life for every holiday. We are a large family so we always try to get as close to 5lb brisket. cook for 40 minutes per pound is perfect. also, we do not use gingerale, I substitute a equal amount of good red wine. we have always found that it is best to let cool, slice and re warm. this freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I fixed it in the crockpot and kept it on low all day. It was the best brisket I have every had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This recipe was fantastic, my family loved it!!! I bought a brisket a little over 8pds. I used 1 box of onion soup mix and one box of onion and mushroom soup mix. The vernors ginger ale tip was great. I already have request's for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Mmmmmm. Absolutely delicious. A crowd pleaser and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very good recipe. Added 2 tsp each of crushed garlic and sriracha. Cooked in crock pot on low for 6 hours. Would probably add more hot sauce next time, as we like a kick. But I'll definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States