Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lainey
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
WOW! So very good! Best lasagna I've ever had, and my mom's recipe is amazing (ricotta). The sour cream is key, don't sub this! I changed the recipe to use what I had on hand and reduced the servings to 6, although I still was able to make a 2-layer lasagna in a 7X11 dish and a 3-layer lasagna in a bread pan to freeze. Soaked noodles in hot water in sink for too long, about 45 minutes, made them noticeably chewy but didn't ruin dish, will do for 15 minutes next time. I browned venison with chopped: med. onion, 3 cloves garlic, can of mushrooms, and sprinkled with garlic powder. Used veggie pasta sauce, added 1/2 small can of tomato paste to thicken, 2 cans original Rotel, no parsley, double the basil. This sauce looked quite runny, but definitely thickened up nicely after 30 minute simmer. Followed sour cream sauce as directed but cut salt by 2/3, per other reviewers recommending to leave out all together. Added pepper until speckled throughout. This sauce was VERY runny, I thought I did it wrong, but assembled anyway as directed. Added 7 minutes to cook time at directed temp. Ready in 2 hours. This was delicious. My 2 yo has been fighting me for days on just about everything and inhaled this with a happy dance. Can't wait to have next day and from frozen. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was one of the best lasagnas I've ever made. From the reviews, I was expecting a fairly different flavor but to me it just tasted like great lasagna, minus the "grittiness" of ricotta. I don't mind ricotta but I sometimes don't like having to buy it just for lasagna when I already keep sour cream on hand for a lot of things. This is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Lazare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Love the green olives and sausage! Nice addition to lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fantastic. I don't like ricotta or cottage cheese so this was perfect. I used ground turkey and turkey sausage. I didn't put the olives in, but if you like them I bet they would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe!!! I have picky eaters at my house so I use only jar tomato sauce (2 jars)and no other tomatoes. I also omit the salt and use only ground beef, or half ground beef half ground turkey. It came out very salty using regular sausage and adding salt. I use barilla no boil noodles and it turns out great. Very delicious recipe, a new family favorite in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I personally didn't like the use of the sour cream at all. I was super excited at 1st because sour cream is way cheaper than ricotta and i always seem to have it. But i just didn't like the texture and unfortunately it didn't seem to have much flavor and i used all the spices...My family didn't hate it. neither did I but i certainly didn't love it. I will do this again as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Tasted like a classic lasagna (I omitted the green olives). The texture was great, and it held together really well. I didn't have any lasagna noodles so I substituted it with small shells (I used about 12 oz and cooked them al dente like you would the lasagna noodles). I layered them in the same way and it turned out great. I could still cut the pieces into squares, oddly enough. (I thought it would turn out to be more of just like a casserole consistency.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this recipe a few nights ago and my picky family enjoyed it! I would make it again. I followed the recipe as written and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I'm not a big fan of lasagna so I tried this approach to see if it made a difference. I followed the recipe perfectly and I was really surprised by how much I like it. The sausage and the olives give it an extra special kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made this recipe without changing a thing, except I substituted Gluten Free Rice Lasagne Noodles. Even though they were no boil noodles, I boiled them anyway (7 mins) because the cook time for the lasagne is not very long. What I love best about this recipe, is that there was no bubbling over into my oven. I truly love this recipe and so does my husband. I love the texture more than the clumpy cottage cheese I've tried with other recipes. Thank You, this now my new GO TO Lasagne recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States