Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Mmmmm mmmm goooood!!! I didnt use the olives and also instead of beef and pork I used 1 pound of turkey ground meat and it was wondrful. I think next time I am going to add a little more meat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the best lasagna I have every tasted. We used stewed tomatoes and it worked great I strained the tomato mitxure as I layered it together. This was super easy to make it didn't take as long as they said it would. I remember having lasagna once from a restuarant that was amazing and I think this was their recipe, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was great!! I was craving lasagna and didn't have ricotta cheese or cottage cheese so I decided to give this a try. I normally use the "Worlds Greatest lasagna" (I think that is the title) recipe that is on this site and it turns out great. My husband didn't realize I made a different lasagna and he said he thought this was my best yet. I told him it was because it wasn't the same recipe. A couple of things I did different which was just because of what I had on hand was.... used ground turkey (full pound) rather than ground beef. I used hot Italian sausage instead of pork sausage. I also used extra spaghetti sauce and swiss cheese. I added more seasoning because the sauce I had on hand was really bland. I added fennel too. Left out olives. Overall I don't think any of these changes really made a big difference. I think the recipe would be great if followed exactly. I will definitely make again. Might try same recipe with cottage cheese just to see if it is so good because of the sour cream or if it is the overall recipe that is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
If you don't wanna use Ricotta but want the real lasagna taste, this is the perfect recipe. This will be a regular in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this was great! i did change it up some, i left out the olives and i used half sour cream half riccotta, and i also used a bigger can of tomato sauce and increased the amount of spices in the sauce. i put a lot more mozzerella in it when i made it for my brother, but i like the amount in the original recipe. i'll be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mRS.L
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This receipe is sooooooo good!! I do not care for ricotta cheese or cottage cheese so I have never found a lasagna that I liked until tonight. I did make a few changes to the receipe only due to the fact that I did not have all the indredients on hand. Instead of making the sauce I used a sausage onion spaghetti sauce that I had in the panty (it had chunks of tomato, onion, and sausage in it). I also used a 'hot' pork sausage. After the first bite my husband and i are hooked. I will be making this dish again and again!!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and love it! I follow the recipe exactly except I omit the olives (although I would like them, my family wouldn't) and use fresh basil when I have it. This is the best lasagna recipe I have made, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
didnt follow recipe totally....only did the sour cream portion....It was pretty good and I would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was a very nice change from your basic lasagna. I actually used chorizo sausage as I didn't have pork sausage on hand - so I added a little Sazon (seasoning) to the meat, as well as a few more latin seasonings. I used more meat (as I like it meatier. I'm also going to play around with this and add a little chipotle w/adobo sauce to the sour cream mix for a little smoke/heat next time. Thanks so much for the recipe ! [Don't omit the olives - it adds so much flavor with the beef]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Really liked this lasagna, the flavor was awesome. I omitted about a cup of the sour cream mixure and used less noodles. I have never been in to lasagna with ricotta in it and am so happy to find a recipe that I really like without the ricotta. I also would have never imagined loving the green olives since I do not eat them normally but it really adds a unique flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States