Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was one of the best lasagnas I've ever made. From the reviews, I was expecting a fairly different flavor but to me it just tasted like great lasagna, minus the "grittiness" of ricotta. I don't mind ricotta but I sometimes don't like having to buy it just for lasagna when I already keep sour cream on hand for a lot of things. This is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Lazare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Love the green olives and sausage! Nice addition to lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fantastic. I don't like ricotta or cottage cheese so this was perfect. I used ground turkey and turkey sausage. I didn't put the olives in, but if you like them I bet they would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe!!! I have picky eaters at my house so I use only jar tomato sauce (2 jars)and no other tomatoes. I also omit the salt and use only ground beef, or half ground beef half ground turkey. It came out very salty using regular sausage and adding salt. I use barilla no boil noodles and it turns out great. Very delicious recipe, a new family favorite in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I personally didn't like the use of the sour cream at all. I was super excited at 1st because sour cream is way cheaper than ricotta and i always seem to have it. But i just didn't like the texture and unfortunately it didn't seem to have much flavor and i used all the spices...My family didn't hate it. neither did I but i certainly didn't love it. I will do this again as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Tasted like a classic lasagna (I omitted the green olives). The texture was great, and it held together really well. I didn't have any lasagna noodles so I substituted it with small shells (I used about 12 oz and cooked them al dente like you would the lasagna noodles). I layered them in the same way and it turned out great. I could still cut the pieces into squares, oddly enough. (I thought it would turn out to be more of just like a casserole consistency.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this recipe a few nights ago and my picky family enjoyed it! I would make it again. I followed the recipe as written and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I'm not a big fan of lasagna so I tried this approach to see if it made a difference. I followed the recipe perfectly and I was really surprised by how much I like it. The sausage and the olives give it an extra special kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made this recipe without changing a thing, except I substituted Gluten Free Rice Lasagne Noodles. Even though they were no boil noodles, I boiled them anyway (7 mins) because the cook time for the lasagne is not very long. What I love best about this recipe, is that there was no bubbling over into my oven. I truly love this recipe and so does my husband. I love the texture more than the clumpy cottage cheese I've tried with other recipes. Thank You, this now my new GO TO Lasagne recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband was skeptical at first, however, this recipe was a hit. I omitted the olives, but otherwise made it exactly as recipe is written. It was my intention to bake it and let it sit overnight (things like this are so much better the next day). However, when I came down to put it in the fridge, my DH had already gotten some of it!! LOL!! We had the rest for dinner the next night and he even took some to work. His co-worker (who is a bachelor) thought it looked so good that he asked if he could have some if any was left. He loved it as well. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States