Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
This is the best banana bread I have ever had. I made it and took it to work everyone wanted the recipe. Freezes really well too, though you probably won't have any left to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Had to make another batch to bring to work. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Awesome Banana Bread! Moist too! A friend came over & we made it together, now we take turns making some and bringing it to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is the ultimate banana bread recipe! I make it for all different groups of people and everyone loves it! I modify the recipe slightly, though, by using 2 loaf pans instead of a 9x13. Temperature and cook time stay the same. My favorite part about this recipe? It always comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Wasn't crazy about this one; I added more bananas and maybe that is what happened. Will stick with my basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've made this one many times and it always turns out great. It's the best tasting recipe for banana bread!! I've also had to substitute regular milk for the buttermilk since I don't always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe is super moist and has great banana taste. To add more flavor to all my banana bread recipes, I add 1-2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice with the dry ingredients. As a great topping I also mix up 1/4 c. oatmeal, 1/4 c. soft butter, 1 tsp. cinn. and 1/4 c. brown sugar and crumble on top of the recipe before cooking. The topping adds an extra touch and always gets a compliment. Like the other comment, I only use this recipe in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I only had 5 bananas so that is all I used and it still had good banana bread flavor. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
great way to use up black bananas and buttermilk. Subbed the oleo for 3/4 cup applesauce and it was super moist. Did up the salt to 1/2 tsp. and cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups and it was plenty sweet. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon to enhance the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe that can be made into a lowfat bread without compromise of flavor or texture! This made 2 loaves and 2 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Perfect bread.....not too dense, not too cake like. Great flavor & texture. I make B Bread ALL THE TIME and this will be my new staple. As always, the darker the banana, the better the bread:) Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States