Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ashandcamsmom
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This bread is AWESOME!! My kids (7 & 3) made this yesterday. Used the 9 x 13 pan as suggested and 1/2 of it gone already! I only made 1/2 the batter and did not have buttermilk but substituted 1cup milk and 1tbs vinegar (stirred and let sit for 10min) then used what was needed for the recipe. So moist and full of banana flavor!! This is a keeper!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandcamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is really delicious. It needs to be baked at lest an hour and 1/2 though, to cook throughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I only used 2 1/2 c. sugar and four large bananas, as it was the right consistancy after four bananas. I also added 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. Smells wonderful. This made three medium sized loaves, for me. Quite a large batch of banana bread. I also covered my breads halfway through with foil to prevent scorching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this moist and delicious bread. It had a crunchy crust and a wonderful sweet banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Prob. The best banana bread I've had. Very moist. I ended up using regular 1% milk because I didnt have buttermilk and I reduced the recipe to half. I also did not have the right pan, so I made muffins instead. The muffins only took aprox. 20 mins in the oven and turned out SOO GOOD. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Vey nice bread! Loved the additon of buttermilk. Also, had six brown bannanas to use up so this was perfect. This made 2 loaves, we ate one and gave one to the in-laws. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This makes wonderfully moist, flavorful, bread! My family loves it so much that they will let the bananas go brown just so I have to make it. It does make alot, 2 loaves and 2 mini loaves. If i don't have buttermilk I just add 1 tsp of vinager to the milk. I also cut the sugar down to 2.5 cups. Everyone is always asking for this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is a nice banana bread recipe. I have substituted sour cream for the buttermilk, with good results. I always add nuts, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Georgia, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I only put 2 1/2 cups of sugar in because as i was adding it i thought 3 was alot. I also used 7 bananas and 1 cup of 2% milk as thats what i had. And also i added about a tsp of cinnamon. I was really worried as it was cooking because almost an hour after i put it in the outside was nice and brown but the inside was completely raw(looked like i just put it in) I thought for sure it was ruined! It ended up taking an hour and a half but man is it worth it! Tender, moist, sweet( but not sickly so) and the top got nicely crisp. I still have one more loaf to make(i put it in 2 loaf pans) and the first is almost gone already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Sweet, and very moist bread, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States