Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
So delicious! Moist and sweet! Just like I like it. I followed the recipe exactly. This was my first time making banana bread and I will not be trying any other recipes! The only thing I will do differently is to add nuts when I add the bananas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is great! I needed a recipe that would use both bananas and buttermilk, and this one was perfect. I, too, cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups. I baked it in the 9x13 pan as instructed, but it took 80 minutes (after 60 minutes I covered it loosely with foil) to cook through in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This banana bread is fantastic! Super moist and great flavor. I've added cinnamon, which tasted great too! I bake as muffins (for 20-23 minutes) and/or in loaf pans. This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Look no further... this is the best recipe. I use butter instead of margarine and whole wheat flour instead of white. Add chocolate chips for a fabulous dessert. I make it all the time and give it to friends, teachers, bring it to brunches, etc. I am constantly asked to bring "my" banana bread. Bake it in stoneware for the best results. I use 2-3 bread pans or mini loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashandcamsmom
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This bread is AWESOME!! My kids (7 & 3) made this yesterday. Used the 9 x 13 pan as suggested and 1/2 of it gone already! I only made 1/2 the batter and did not have buttermilk but substituted 1cup milk and 1tbs vinegar (stirred and let sit for 10min) then used what was needed for the recipe. So moist and full of banana flavor!! This is a keeper!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandcamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is really delicious. It needs to be baked at lest an hour and 1/2 though, to cook throughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I only used 2 1/2 c. sugar and four large bananas, as it was the right consistancy after four bananas. I also added 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. Smells wonderful. This made three medium sized loaves, for me. Quite a large batch of banana bread. I also covered my breads halfway through with foil to prevent scorching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this moist and delicious bread. It had a crunchy crust and a wonderful sweet banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Prob. The best banana bread I've had. Very moist. I ended up using regular 1% milk because I didnt have buttermilk and I reduced the recipe to half. I also did not have the right pan, so I made muffins instead. The muffins only took aprox. 20 mins in the oven and turned out SOO GOOD. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Vey nice bread! Loved the additon of buttermilk. Also, had six brown bannanas to use up so this was perfect. This made 2 loaves, we ate one and gave one to the in-laws. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States