Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I lost my grandmother's recipe, this one is the closest yet! She would add various different dried fruits, chips, nuts and then send me around the neighborhood to give loaves of 'Fruit Cake' door-to-door as Christmas gifts. I have enjoyed adding chocolate chips, coconut and pecans the most, but dried blueberries or cranberries with white chips are also excellent. If I have oats and dried pineapple when I make this, they might end up in the batter-the variations are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This has to be the best banana bread I have ever had! I changed it up a little bit, with the sugar I did 2 cups reg sug and 1 cup brown sugar. And I used 5 eggs instead of 4. Great Recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
What a DELICIOUS banana bread! First off, this recipe is gi-normous! It made 6 min-loaves & 30 cupcakes! And OMG what a wonderful crispy crust, especially on the mini loves! Lovely nongreasy crumb which held that toasted walnuts I added perfectly. Used Smart Balance for the margarine & will keep using it - worked great. This one is a real keeper folks - get that bunch of reduced bananas or start saving them one at a time in the freezer for this recipe. Will be using these cupcakes for Halloween decorating - if I can get them to last that long. Out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I subbed 1 cup of whey (from my son's cheese making science experiment) instead of buttermilk and did not notice any difference. Moist, flavourful. I did not bake it in a 9 x 13, using 2 bread pans instead, and it did ooze over into my oven. Will know to use larger bread pans or the 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this banana bread it's perfect as is, no changes needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Oh my goodness... This Banana Bread is just divine!!! I was looking for a super moist and this recipe does not disappoint. DON'T cook this in two bread pans.The temp/time is perfect for cake pan. A loaf pan is way to thick for above temp/time. you would need to cook longer at a lower temp. (don't ask how I know... a "FRIEND" told me. It over flowed.. batter dripping and burning with smoke... A real "DRRR" moment... um, so I was told of course." GOOD LUCK, VERY YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Perfectly moist wonderful bread have made 4 batches since Thanksgiving! I do add 1 teaspoon nutmeg 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves as well as a cup or two of chopped pecans and bake in bundt pan for an hour. Also I did not have any buttermilk so used regular whole milk in place. This is the best snack and all that have tasted the souped up recipe rave about. Thanks a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dynabryte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
Living In: Magnolia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
So delicious! Moist and sweet! Just like I like it. I followed the recipe exactly. This was my first time making banana bread and I will not be trying any other recipes! The only thing I will do differently is to add nuts when I add the bananas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is great! I needed a recipe that would use both bananas and buttermilk, and this one was perfect. I, too, cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups. I baked it in the 9x13 pan as instructed, but it took 80 minutes (after 60 minutes I covered it loosely with foil) to cook through in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This banana bread is fantastic! Super moist and great flavor. I've added cinnamon, which tasted great too! I bake as muffins (for 20-23 minutes) and/or in loaf pans. This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States