Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used this as a base recipe...and will begin tweaking it. I wanted a banana bread recipe that bakes up as a 'moist brick'. That may sound strange, but it accurately reflects my memory of the *best d*mned banana bread I ever ate*. I used buttermilk in place of milk. I cut down the sugar. I added old fashioned/rolled oats in place of half the flour...which added an extra texture. Not sure what I think of that. Will either downgrade to quick oats - or omit altogether in place of the original amount of flour (I made a half recipe and baked it in a loaf pan). I love the results for a first run. It resulted in that 'basic brick' super-moist loaf of quick bread. Looking forward to tweaking this into my 'go to' banana bread. PS -- my bananas (all 3) were pitiful. I had maybe one cup of mashed banana total for the half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Awesome! Really nice fresh banana taste. Very moist and when it was fresh had a very nice crisp top (after 1st day got a little mushy but still tasted great). The only changes I made were that I halved the recipe and made in a 9x9 glass pan and used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Kids & husband love it. They ask me to make it every time they see bananas. I substituted brown sugar for white- as i prefer brown. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Delicious! It is certainly more like a cake than a bread but a wonderful treat with great banana flavour. It is a bit sweet and next time I would reduce the sugar a bit like some other people mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I like the buttermilk, but way too much sugar. Tastes like sugar bread. But like it says if you like a sweet bread this one's for you. Me personally I like my banana bread to taste like bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura MacVicar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the best and moistest recipe I've come across. Because I don't keep buttermilk on hand, I substituted whole milk instead. My family scarfs this down as fast as I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great recipe! Very banana-y! The only thing I would add is to make sure you check on it often. I was checking every 10-15 minutes, but at 57 minutes, I checked and it was a bit overcooked. It didn't detract from the taste, though. I added cinnamon. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
It took approx. 75-80 minutes to cook in 9X13 pan. Definitely sweet and moist, but not the spiced banana bread that I'm use to. Still really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I won't look any further for a banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
added an extra banana but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKSWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Suitland, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States