Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I like the buttermilk, but way too much sugar. Tastes like sugar bread. But like it says if you like a sweet bread this one's for you. Me personally I like my banana bread to taste like bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the best and moistest recipe I've come across. Because I don't keep buttermilk on hand, I substituted whole milk instead. My family scarfs this down as fast as I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great recipe! Very banana-y! The only thing I would add is to make sure you check on it often. I was checking every 10-15 minutes, but at 57 minutes, I checked and it was a bit overcooked. It didn't detract from the taste, though. I added cinnamon. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
It took approx. 75-80 minutes to cook in 9X13 pan. Definitely sweet and moist, but not the spiced banana bread that I'm use to. Still really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I won't look any further for a banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
added an extra banana but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKSWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Suitland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
very good recipe, i made 4 loaves in two days. anyone who tasted it loved it, although the second batch i decreased the sugar to two cups as too much sugar for my taste, and better for the grandchildren too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I added finally chopped dates (1 cup) and 1 cup chopped walnuts. I used another reviewer's recommendation on the topping of oatmeal, cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter and it is superb. Only problem was that my batter overflowed the two loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Great recipe! However, I changed things to make it a bit healthier. I used 1 cup of brown sugar & 1.5 cups of Splenda. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour & 1.5 cups of AP flour. Instead if 1 cup of butter, I figured 2 bananas were about the same consistency of 2 sticks of softened butter - 1.5 tsp vanilla and fat free buttermilk. I stirred in (gently) the dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk. I usually use eggbeaters but I was out. I added the 6 bananas (total of 8). I made it in a bundt pan & had enough left over for a mini loaf pan. AWESOME!! I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The best banana bread I've ever had!!!! Amazingly moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States