Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Only change I made was to use butter. Delicious, great texture, baked up perfectly. This will be my new go-to biscuit recipe! A tip is to grate the butter into the flour mixture, then just stir together - great way to get the butter into the right size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used butter in place of shorting and whipping cream in place of milk, a crunch of sea salt on the biscuits just out of the oven, and made the most delectable, perfect biscuits ever! A slight crunch in the outside, moist and flavorful on the inside. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fluffy, just a tad sweet and plump enough that you can skip rolling and cutting - super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I have only made biscuits once, and this is my second recipe I've tried and it's great! It does have a distinct sweetness, but I like it! I added a little shredded cheese to jazz mine up and they turned out so well I almost didn't believe it was me who made them! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
First of all I did NOT change anything! These are amazing!, way better than Paula Deans recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is an awesome biscuit recipe! My mom, who has always followed her mom's recipe, asked me for this one after eating these drop biscuits! Please note: I also made a batch where I rolled the dough out and cut the biscuits. My husband loved them because they were much easier to pull apart, but their is a difference in texture when you roll them. My mom and I both preferred the drop biscuits to rolling and cutting this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
It's really hard to find a good biscuit recipe - and lo-and-behold, found one! Oh boy, it was fluffy and absolutely delicious. It's great on it's own or with something (I made this initially to go with Chicken and onions pan fried in honey). Husband loved it a lot, and I'm definitely going to make this again. I did leave out the cream of tartar, and substituted the shortening for butter. I also did the ball method instead of the cut-out. Came out perfect. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
As suggested by other members, I used butter rather than shortening. That's the only thing I changed, and the biscuits turned out perfectly! Two thumbs up from both my little boys. Next time, will try adding grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These were so fluffy and delicious. Great recipe! It's important to 1. ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS make sure you use fresh (or fairly new) flour and baking powder (it makes all the difference in the world with recipes that use flour as the main ingredient) and 2. do not pack the flour! If the recipe calls for 2 cups flour and you pack it, it will end up being 4 cups or more resulting in very dry and rock like biscuits. Again, these biscuits were amazing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Simple recipe, delicious results. The cream of tartar is not necessary. I also prefer to use real butter over shortening. Rather than drop the dough onto sheet, I prefer to spread it out with my hands onto my baking sheet and score lightly so I can break them apart or cut with a knife. I like my biscuits with more flavor so I typically add grated cheese to them. I also added chopped jalapeno on this occasion which went fantastic with my home made spaghetti sauce! Thank you for this recipe! I always used to think that the only way to make great biscuits was with buttermilk but this recipe proves me wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States