Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent just as written! I made these biscuits into cheesy garlic onion biscuits with the addition of some grated medium cheddar, about a tsp of garlic powder, and a few chopped green onions. I also left out the cream of tartar as I didnt have any on hand. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
As suggested by other members, I used butter rather than shortening. That's the only thing I changed, and the biscuits turned out perfectly! Two thumbs up from both my little boys. Next time, will try adding grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I substituted butter for shortening in this recipe. These biscuits are hard to describe because they are both fluffy and dry. They are EXTREMELY crumbly. They aren't great for butter/apple butter/jelly but they would certainly be good with gravy. I gave this recipe 4 stars because I do believe, that without my substitution, they would have been less crumbly. (By the way, my kids love them. My son calls them spiky-biscuits because of the golden brown peaks on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious! I made these this morning with butter instead of shortening, and they turned out wonderful. First time making biscuits, and I didn't have any problems, so I would definitely recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe! The biscuits are super easy to make and turned out golden and fluffy! I used butter-flavored shortening. I love the light hint of sweetness (cornbread-esque) and the light crunch on the outside with very tender middle. My hubby is not a bread fan but rated it 9 out of 10 (in 12 years of marriage, I've only seen him rate a food item a 10 twice). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is a very soft and moist biscuit. My whole family loved them and they were so easy to make! I did as another person suggested and used butter in place of the shortening. I also used half/half instead of the milk. I may cut the sugar back to 1 tbsp next time so they don't have too much of a sweetness. Don't get me wrong. The very light sweetness was good, it's just a personal preference. These would be good to add some garlic powder and cheddar to. YUM! I can't wait to give that a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We just ate the last one. Kids loved it. They were pretty good, light and fluffy. They taste way better than any store bought. Hard part was for my son to wait for them to cook. Taste like true southern style biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this to use with leftover ham. The biscuit was dry and did not have a lot of taste. I gave it a 3 because I did make a couple of changes. I used butter instead of shortening and 1/3 c milk & 1/3 c buttermilk. I really do not think that would make a big difference. Will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I just made these and I'm thinking that I'll use this same recipe for drop biscuits from now on!! It's a cold, snowy day here in MN so my sister prepared beef stew and I made these biscuits. My sister, brother-in-law and I agreed that they were the fluffiest biscuits we'd ever tasted. The only things I did differently were butter instead of shortening and I cut down the sugar to 1 TBSP. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe - these are soooo fluffy! I did not use the cream of tartar (did not have any) and substituted oil for the shortening. I also did not use sugar because I was making sausage gravy for them, but I will add it when I make them to eat with honey or jam. Perfection - they will be my go to recipe for biscuits now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States