Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this with a rice flour mix and still turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is an awesome biscuit recipe! My mom, who has always followed her mom's recipe, asked me for this one after eating these drop biscuits! Please note: I also made a batch where I rolled the dough out and cut the biscuits. My husband loved them because they were much easier to pull apart, but their is a difference in texture when you roll them. My mom and I both preferred the drop biscuits to rolling and cutting this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These weren't bad, by any means - they just weren't knock you socks off good. As others have mentioned, they were somewhat dry - which was confusing as the dough itself was nice & moist. Very strong baking powder taste which I guess is what turned us off a bit. With biscuits & gravy, these would be quite good. On their own, however, I'd try something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I just made these, adding the extra flour (2 Tbs) in order to pat them out and cut. They are perfect! This is an easy recipe to follow, using ingredients that anyone would typically have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These are explosive (they're the bomb) and they made my feet cold (they blew my socks off). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DolphinpodP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Was suprised at the sweetness in these biscuits. I wanted to make a simple biscuit for gravy. May try this one again without the sugar. Otherwise it is very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Taylor Benedict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I remember my sister coming home from a trip to Mississippi one summer raving about the food and especially the biscuits...this recipe captures that reason for excitement. Very light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I usually just make biscuits from a mix, but didn't have any, and needed a recipe for biscuits for a quick dinner of biscuits and gravy. Found this recipe, and it was wonderful! I made exactly as written. I didn't even want the gravy on them, and just ate mine with butter. The texture of these is wonderful, too! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I just pulled these out of the oven. I loved the textures;short on the outside but melt in your mouth softness on the inside! I substituted light brown sugar for one of the tbs and used 1/4 c butter and a 1/4 c of Crisco. I also added 1/8 tsp cinnamon to give it a hearty flavor. I am having one with a cup of coffee as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States