Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Terrific. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. My family really loved these - over our standard buttermilk biscuits. They are slightly sweeter and more crumbly than the buttermilk version. Super easy to make - and quick to fit in after everything else is done cooking and the kids are setting the table. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Fantastic flaky texture! I replaced the shortening with butter and increased it by 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Hmm I made these tonight and I'm a little undecided about them. They weren't bad, but I've had better. I wish they were a little more fluffy & moist. I made them for my parents, and they really liked them. I used butter in place of shortening. I did like the convenience of not having to roll and cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I always use butter instead of shortening and these were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very simple recipe - we have even just dropped the dough onto a cookie sheet using a large ice cream scoop and the biscuits still bake through just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These would be perfect for strawberry shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wonderful! Only biscuit recipe I have ever made with an egg. Will be my go to. I was out of baking poeder. Sub 1/4t of baking soda & 1/2t of cream of tatar. Beautiful biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good easy recipe. The biscuits were very tender and tasted good. I used butter instead of shortening and did as the footnotes said and added flour so I could handle it to cut the biscuits with a biscuit cutter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I must have really missed something, they came out looking good, but the taste was horrible. There is an after taste that taste like baking soda! Maybe I'll alternate the shortening for butter and use less baking soda and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
EXCELLENT! My Husband found these to be his new favorite over my own personal roll out. Tender, moist, yet FLUFFY!! I did use 1/4 C Butter and 1/4 C Shortening, only because I was low on the shortening and they turned out MAGNIFICANTLY!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's our new go to favorite for certain! YUMMMM! :) God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States