Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I made this without changes to the recipe except I used butter instead of shortening. I also took a reviewers suggestion and used a cheese shredder to cut in the butter. It worked fabulously and I will do it this way from now on. I used the biscuit as a topping on my chicken pot pie and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
These are awesome so light and fluffy. Didn't change a thing. Also used them on top of chicken pot pie. Great topping. Cooked on pie for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I recently tried these biscuits and they are delicious--white on the inside, soft, moist and golden brown on the outside. Instead of shortening, however, I substituted lard. I have a convection oven so I had to adjust the temperature 25 degrees less than the recommended temperature. It's the best biscuit I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Penny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I usually just make the biscuit recipe on the side of the baking powder can, but I bought Trader Joe's baking powder, which doesn't have a recipe on it, so I turned to allrecipes for an alternative. My whole family loved these biscuits. I subbed butter for the shortening, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. I made them as a drop biscuit, using an ice cream scoop to drop them on the cookie sheet. They were moist and tender, with great flavor- buttery, just barely sweet. I wonder a couple of things: if those who ended up with a dry biscuit rolled & cut their dough, which would add extra flour to the mix, and if the reviewer who complained of an overwhelming baking powder taste used 4 Tablespoons instead of teaspoons of baking powder, because these were great! Great as a side with dinner, for breakfast with jam or honey or sausage gravy, and I wouldn't hesitate to use this as a shortcake for strawberries & whipped cream. Thank you for a great biscuit recipe! I have added this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Absolutely wonderful as written! Quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Dry and crumbly. Followed directions and ingredients exactly. Sort of bland. Maybe they need some butter instead of straight shortening. Won't try again, too many other biscuit recipes to try. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These are amazing homemade biscuits and no buttermilk needed! My grand-daughter is the ultimate picky eater and these get 2 thumbs up from her ; ) I just knead a little extra flour into the dough (no more than 10 folds) and cut them out. Makes a dozen 2 inch biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Instead of using white flour, I used 1/2 Brown rice flour, and 1/2 all purposes gluten free flour. I also used 6 packets of equal (could have gotten away with only using 3). It was a very easy recipe to follow. When I pulled them out, they were extremely crumbly. Probably connected to changing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this but instead of using shortening I shredded a stick of frozen butter into the flour, mixed in the wet ingredients, until the mixture came together turned onto a floured surfaced kneaded a few times then used a biscuit cutter. They turned out tender and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States