Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fluffy, just a tad sweet and plump enough that you can skip rolling and cutting - super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used butter in place of shorting and whipping cream in place of milk, a crunch of sea salt on the biscuits just out of the oven, and made the most delectable, perfect biscuits ever! A slight crunch in the outside, moist and flavorful on the inside. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
fast, easy to make, taste great! I did not drop them I just patted down , and cut with a floured ring. VERY FLUFFY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have failed at many a biscuit recipe over the years (bricks or nasty tasting) but this one is the ultimate winner! Biscuits come out with an unusual but wonderful taste, solid but fluffy consistency. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Wonderful.. a slightly different taste and texture due to the cream of tartar.. Would be good with addtions to make them sweet or savory.. keeping this one in recipe box. I used butter flavored shortneing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Ese were so easy to make and amazing flavor. I used them for biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Just made this recipe, and it turned out pretty good! I ended up using heavy whipping cream (because that is what I had.. was out of milk) I also added some minced garlic and grated parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious! eating it right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
AMAZING biscuits. Very light and fluffy - the only sad part is I don't think my family will be letting me get away with canned biscuits ever again. One caution - I had to check very conscienciously for the last 5 minutes - one batch I delayed a minute or so (was juggling gravy) and bottoms scorched a little. With that in mind - perfect, fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe - these are soooo fluffy! I did not use the cream of tartar (did not have any) and substituted oil for the shortening. I also did not use sugar because I was making sausage gravy for them, but I will add it when I make them to eat with honey or jam. Perfection - they will be my go to recipe for biscuits now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States