Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very simple recipe - we have even just dropped the dough onto a cookie sheet using a large ice cream scoop and the biscuits still bake through just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These would be perfect for strawberry shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wonderful! Only biscuit recipe I have ever made with an egg. Will be my go to. I was out of baking poeder. Sub 1/4t of baking soda & 1/2t of cream of tatar. Beautiful biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good easy recipe. The biscuits were very tender and tasted good. I used butter instead of shortening and did as the footnotes said and added flour so I could handle it to cut the biscuits with a biscuit cutter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I must have really missed something, they came out looking good, but the taste was horrible. There is an after taste that taste like baking soda! Maybe I'll alternate the shortening for butter and use less baking soda and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
EXCELLENT! My Husband found these to be his new favorite over my own personal roll out. Tender, moist, yet FLUFFY!! I did use 1/4 C Butter and 1/4 C Shortening, only because I was low on the shortening and they turned out MAGNIFICANTLY!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's our new go to favorite for certain! YUMMMM! :) God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was by far the best baking powder biscuit that I have ever had. The only change that I made was to sub becel for the shortening because I was out of shortening. There were just the four of us and all 12 were gone in a flash. If I could I would rate these a 10 I would!!! Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
It came out delicious also with spelt flour and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natallia
Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe exactly like described and I have also used butter and shaved the butter into the flour. I love both but if I have butter I will use butter instead just for personal preference. I'm so happy I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Tillman
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful ... just like Grandma used to make... I used parkey instead of shortening and it turned out perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Tillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States