Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was by far the best baking powder biscuit that I have ever had. The only change that I made was to sub becel for the shortening because I was out of shortening. There were just the four of us and all 12 were gone in a flash. If I could I would rate these a 10 I would!!! Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
It came out delicious also with spelt flour and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natallia
Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe exactly like described and I have also used butter and shaved the butter into the flour. I love both but if I have butter I will use butter instead just for personal preference. I'm so happy I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Tillman
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful ... just like Grandma used to make... I used parkey instead of shortening and it turned out perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Tillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made these as we were out of bisquick. The whole family has decided no more bisquick biscuits in this house ever. Very very good. Will definitely make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very good, very quick, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Per other reviews I left out the cream of tartar, and used butter instead of shortening for the flavor. I made them as drop biscuits so as not to add more flour. I will be making these again, maybe with just a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These were really good! I used butter instead of shortening (shortening was a huge trend back in my grandma's day, too). The texture of these biscuits was wonderful. If you're using this recipe for biscuits or gravy, consider reducing the amount of sugar by half, or maybe leave it out all together. I found the sweetness to be a little too much under a savory gravy. The key to any biscuit, though, is not to overmix. I don't even roll out the biscuits for fear of overworking the dough. The bottom of the biscuit will brown faster than the top, so be sure not to wait too long for the golden color to appear on the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Crunchy on the outside moist in the inside. My dog loves these biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States