Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I just pulled these out of the oven. I loved the textures;short on the outside but melt in your mouth softness on the inside! I substituted light brown sugar for one of the tbs and used 1/4 c butter and a 1/4 c of Crisco. I also added 1/8 tsp cinnamon to give it a hearty flavor. I am having one with a cup of coffee as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
It's really hard to find a good biscuit recipe - and lo-and-behold, found one! Oh boy, it was fluffy and absolutely delicious. It's great on it's own or with something (I made this initially to go with Chicken and onions pan fried in honey). Husband loved it a lot, and I'm definitely going to make this again. I did leave out the cream of tartar, and substituted the shortening for butter. I also did the ball method instead of the cut-out. Came out perfect. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
buttery goodness!!! and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
very good. kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I also used butter instead of shortening. I had no cream of tartar but the biscuits still came out fluffy and flavorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent just as written! I made these biscuits into cheesy garlic onion biscuits with the addition of some grated medium cheddar, about a tsp of garlic powder, and a few chopped green onions. I also left out the cream of tartar as I didnt have any on hand. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
As suggested by other members, I used butter rather than shortening. That's the only thing I changed, and the biscuits turned out perfectly! Two thumbs up from both my little boys. Next time, will try adding grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I substituted butter for shortening in this recipe. These biscuits are hard to describe because they are both fluffy and dry. They are EXTREMELY crumbly. They aren't great for butter/apple butter/jelly but they would certainly be good with gravy. I gave this recipe 4 stars because I do believe, that without my substitution, they would have been less crumbly. (By the way, my kids love them. My son calls them spiky-biscuits because of the golden brown peaks on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious! I made these this morning with butter instead of shortening, and they turned out wonderful. First time making biscuits, and I didn't have any problems, so I would definitely recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States