Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Was suprised at the sweetness in these biscuits. I wanted to make a simple biscuit for gravy. May try this one again without the sugar. Otherwise it is very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Taylor Benedict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I remember my sister coming home from a trip to Mississippi one summer raving about the food and especially the biscuits...this recipe captures that reason for excitement. Very light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I usually just make biscuits from a mix, but didn't have any, and needed a recipe for biscuits for a quick dinner of biscuits and gravy. Found this recipe, and it was wonderful! I made exactly as written. I didn't even want the gravy on them, and just ate mine with butter. The texture of these is wonderful, too! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I just pulled these out of the oven. I loved the textures;short on the outside but melt in your mouth softness on the inside! I substituted light brown sugar for one of the tbs and used 1/4 c butter and a 1/4 c of Crisco. I also added 1/8 tsp cinnamon to give it a hearty flavor. I am having one with a cup of coffee as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
It's really hard to find a good biscuit recipe - and lo-and-behold, found one! Oh boy, it was fluffy and absolutely delicious. It's great on it's own or with something (I made this initially to go with Chicken and onions pan fried in honey). Husband loved it a lot, and I'm definitely going to make this again. I did leave out the cream of tartar, and substituted the shortening for butter. I also did the ball method instead of the cut-out. Came out perfect. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
buttery goodness!!! and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
very good. kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I also used butter instead of shortening. I had no cream of tartar but the biscuits still came out fluffy and flavorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent just as written! I made these biscuits into cheesy garlic onion biscuits with the addition of some grated medium cheddar, about a tsp of garlic powder, and a few chopped green onions. I also left out the cream of tartar as I didnt have any on hand. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States