Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Love the recipe. Don't add too much extra flour the dough seems wet but that is the perfect texture. I used butter vs shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Dillabaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Yes and it's super good , easy, and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
These are the sweetest fluffiest biscuits I have ever made. The only thing better than one of these biscuits, fresh from the oven with a bit of butter and jam, is a cinnamon roll made with this biscuit batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thomas Gordon Jeffrey
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Pretty good recipe! It didn't blow me away, but it was good for sure. I think I'll try butter instead of vegetable shortening next time. I added cheddar cheese, and pickled jalapeños... And a tiny bit of honey in the milk and egg mixture. Definitely worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This worked great tasted like biscuits my mom used to maked I think using butter flavored shortening would add more flow or
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I love good bread in any shape or form & these biscuits didn't not disappoint me - they were awesome !! The only change I made was that I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Herrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wow! This recipe is perfect. We had never made these from scratch before but will from now on! These were fluffy inside, crispy outside and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Terrific. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. My family really loved these - over our standard buttermilk biscuits. They are slightly sweeter and more crumbly than the buttermilk version. Super easy to make - and quick to fit in after everything else is done cooking and the kids are setting the table. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Fantastic flaky texture! I replaced the shortening with butter and increased it by 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Hmm I made these tonight and I'm a little undecided about them. They weren't bad, but I've had better. I wish they were a little more fluffy & moist. I made them for my parents, and they really liked them. I used butter in place of shortening. I did like the convenience of not having to roll and cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States