Grandma's Baked Rice Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is terrific! I've been trying a lot of the rice pudding recipes and find this one to be one of my favorites so far. I had some left over rice and used that but otherwise followed the recipe. It was easy and the pudding firmed up nicely even though I thought that it was a little to liquidy at first. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I don't even like rice pudding but I had some leftover rice from dinner, so I made it, it is so creamy and good, iadded cinnamon and my family loved it. very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was great. My mom loved it. I didn't use the water and it still turned out great. I just added a bit of cinnamon on top and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. The preparation is complicated and the results weren't good enough to justify the effort. There are easier ways to make a better, smoother rice pudding. Also, with the added meringue the dish was too sweet. If you plan to make it I suggest reducing the amount of sugar in the meringue by about half. In its favor, the finished dish looks wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oflint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It is a good recipe, though very time consuming. My husband and I liked it but my kids only liked the meringue. It did need cinnamin in the rice mix. I will use it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a bit more work than most Rice Puddings I have made. But I think it was worth it. It was a bit dry after it was completely done, I mixed the topping in well with the pudding and then added some evaporated milk to bring it back to the creamier stage, it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Great recipe - tastes just like the rice pudding I used to get at a German deli when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Best rice pudding recipe I've tried yet! Received lots of compliments. It got thicker as it sat in the fridge so I just added milk to thin a little before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Pretty good, I think that it needed a little more lemon juice. It took way too long to cook, but the effort was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I MADE THIS WITHOUT THE MERINGUE AND I HAVE TO SAY, IT IS THE BEST RICE PUDDING THAT I HAVE EVER HAD! TWO OF MY FRIENDS HAVE ALSO TRIED IT WHEN THEY HAVE COME OVER, AND THHEY AGREE WITH ME. I HAVE LUPPUS AND AM VERY SICK, SO I CAN'T EAT VERY MANY THINGS, BECAUSE OF MY ILLNESS. THIS HOWEVER, HAS BEEN A LIFE-SAVER. I HAVE MADE IT THREE TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS, AND IT HAS KEPT MY WEIGHT AROUND 92 LBS. THANK YOU FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States