Grandma's Baked Rice Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
delicious! the only rice pudding i will eat and it is my son's favorite. i did not do the meringue or raisons. i did add a generous dash of cinnamon. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe...but...I don't get the meringue. I feel like such a traitor! I am a meringue enthusiast, I am! BUT in this recipe it just seemed so out of place. I felt like I was having two separate desserts together and missing the lemon filling or something. Next time I'll skip the meringue or maybe just make a pie if I'm in such a mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I've been making rice pudding this way for years - I sometimes omit the raisins and put a thin layer of raspberry jam on top of the pudding before putting on the meringue - it really is quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Just like my grandma used to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
it was too sweet for me so i added more milk and it turned out good. i guess im just used to my moms traditional rice pudding.. /:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbqqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is very good,not to sweet not to gooey, just right wait I sound like Goldie locks! anyways it's " GRREEAAT" now I sound like Tony the tiger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was the best I ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I MADE THIS WITHOUT THE MERINGUE AND I HAVE TO SAY, IT IS THE BEST RICE PUDDING THAT I HAVE EVER HAD! TWO OF MY FRIENDS HAVE ALSO TRIED IT WHEN THEY HAVE COME OVER, AND THHEY AGREE WITH ME. I HAVE LUPPUS AND AM VERY SICK, SO I CAN'T EAT VERY MANY THINGS, BECAUSE OF MY ILLNESS. THIS HOWEVER, HAS BEEN A LIFE-SAVER. I HAVE MADE IT THREE TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS, AND IT HAS KEPT MY WEIGHT AROUND 92 LBS. THANK YOU FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Pretty good, I think that it needed a little more lemon juice. It took way too long to cook, but the effort was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States