Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Delicious! Very rich (maybe a bit much for me, I think I'll cut back on the sugar a little next time.) I did use apple juice in place of orange juice because that's what I happened to have in the fridge. Very simple to make, and I agree with the reviewer who said to cover it halfway through baking. But they were tender, soft, and tasty for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this with a can of peaches in light syrup instead of apples and orange juice. I used one or two slices of peach per roll, depending on the size of the peach slices. I used the leftover juice from the can, which ended up to be about 1/2 a cup of juice, and used cranberry juice to fill to the rest of the 3/4. This was fantastic, and made my house smell delicious! Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I make these EVERY holiday. The first time I made these for Thanksgiving, everyone wanted the recipe. Do not change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is really good. I may use less OJ next time because it makes a LOT of sauce. Great with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
The best apple dessert ever. Love the orange juice to give a tarty taste! Everyone Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was perfect as is, only thing I did different was divide each apple into 8 slices, instead of 4. I made two pans and they were gone before they cooled! If you like apple pie, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I'm an indifferent baker but I had extra granny smith apples I needed to use. This was amazing! I've never had apple dumplings before, so I'm not sure what other ones taste like. Also, many people complained about the strong taste of the orange juice, I found the orange flavor very pleasant and not overpowering at all. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are the best apple dumplings that I have ever made. And so simple, I never thought of crescent rolls. They were divine! Made these as an extra Thanksgiving dessert since my family ususally eats 1 piece of pumpkin pie. This was a big hit, especially with French Vanilla ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
So Good!! I used cider in place of OJ since I didn't have it. Next time I will try it with OJ and see if it taste as good with 1/2 the butter. If it needs all the butter, so be it. It's worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. Very different flavor from ordinary apple dumplings due to the orange juice. We did add a little extra sugar and lots of extra cinnamon, and covered the dumplings for the last seven minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States